Blue Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This is good but I don't recommend it for those who want the taste of cranberries for the traditional holiday meal. The blueberries overtake the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHNICKELFRITZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Too good for words I add more cinnamon just cause we like it so much other than I follow the recipe as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This cranberry sauce was the best I have ever had! The blueberries make it two steps ahead of any traditional recipe. I could not find fresh blueberries in our local stores when I made this (for Thanksgiving), but I used frozen for both and it still came out fantastic. I recommend it to anyone who wants a change from typical cranberry sauce on the Thanksgiving table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This does need more sugar because the sauce was just a little too tart. It was good though and I'm sure it is healthier than the canned stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holyrood, Kansas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I've made this every year since I found the recipe. Love it! I now judge those who use canned sauces! Based on the comments I sub orange juice for the water and I reduce the spices a bit as I feared it would be a bit "potpourri-ish" and I like it, but I don't know what it's like w/ the full spices so I can't say it wouldn't be great as written. I use frozen blueberries, folded in after the heat is off. I also add a little orange extract. It's good warm, it's good chilled, it's good today and good tomorrow. Yum! I love the tartness, so I didn't add add'l sugar, but your mileage may vary. This is so easy and quick and yummy that there is just no reason to use canned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit. I will definitely be using this recipe for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Beautiful and appreciated when brought as a holiday hostess gift. Made my crabby sis jealous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecoco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Have been making this for several years, and we absolutely love it! I now have my two boys hooked as well. We started with it as a Thanksgiving dish, but now make it continually during cranberry season. I do add an additional 1/8 cup sugar to cut down on the tartness, and instead of two cups blueberries, I always use 1 cup blueberries, 1/2 cup blackberries, and 1/2 cup raspberries. I could eat the whole bowl full myself! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I found it way too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jasper, Texas, USA
Living In: Appleton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
it was good but i used a little less cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States