Blue Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
You have to to try this!!!!!I am not a fan of the tart,jellied cranberry stuff,and cranberry sauce isusually not the star of the show at Thanksgiving....Well,move over,Thomas Turkey!!!This is the BEST sauce you will ever have,hands down!!!I had to make the cranberry sauce this year,because my mother was going to settle for the canned !It is sooo easy to do.Even ifyou are not a good cook,trust me....You will not be dissappointed.I spiced it up with apple pie spice and ginger to give it an extra punch,used 3/4 cup sugar(1/2 cup white,1/4 brown)1/2 cup orange juice and 1/2 cup water,orange peel and 1 whole orange cut up into tiny pieces....Not everyone in my house is into spice as I am,so I made another recipe on this site fo them....Thank you for sharing!(:Happy Thanksgiving everyone!***November 26*** Wanted to add....Everyone LOVED this!!!You have to try!So easy and tastes so gourmet!!!(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This recipe is fantastic. I was tasked with making a cranberry compote for my thanksgiving food item this year, and I went with a recipe from food network at first... Emeril's recipe, to be specific. It turns out that his recipe was utter garbage, and tasted like the bottom of a litterbox. This recipe, on the other hand, was amazing... I did a small amount of customization, substituting orange juice for the water, reducing the amount of cinnamon, and adding a slightly larger amount of nutmeg and blueberries. It turned out great, and I want to thank the author for the recipe! Nice work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adizzle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This is an easy tasty recipe. I substitute splenda for the sugar as the cranberrys are very low carb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I have made this so many times. It is extremely easy to make and has become legendary with my friends. It is always requested for Fakesgiving (Thanksgiving feast on a separate day with only friends no family)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
HELPFUL TIPS WHILE MAKING THIS: I definitely had to take the advice of another reviewer and add 1C of sugar. All the other cranberry sauce recipes on here call for 1C as well, so it's not as alarming as one may think. Otherwise, it is WAY too tart. Know that when they say the cranberries will POP ...they literally mean pop, so it may be best to not wear white or stand so close to the pot ;) Otherwise, this was delicious and a nice twist to the normal cranberry sauce. I've got to admit that my husband thought there was too much cinnamon, but he is one of those people who are sensitive to seasonings (loves them but hates when one overwhelms a recipe). Personally, I thought it was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I just made this (so easy) and yummy. I put a spoonful over Greek non-fat yogurt and a sprinkle of granola to hold me over until dinner with my husband later tonight. I plan to make a big batch to can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I make this every year. People request it! I use frozen blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This comes together very quickly and the colors are gorgeous! I had to add just slightly more sugar as my cranberries were pretty tart and I used frozen blueberries instead of fresh. The flavor is much more complex than the ingredients suggest. I think it's fabulous and I hope the family loves it on Turkey Day. If not, then it's all mine! Thanks a lot for a different take on an old favorite. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I needed to add 1/2 cup more sugar. It was too tart for me, but I like sweet. And please be careful with the spices. Allspice and Nutmeg are very strong and can overpower the cranberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adriana mooney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I didn't like cranberry sauce until I tried this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States