Blue Corn Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This recipe is delicious~ I am wheat, gluten, and cow dairy sensitive so I made a few modifications. 1. Substituted rice flour for AP 2. Substituted 1 1/8 C coconut milk for cow milk 3. Substituted 1/2 C applesauce for the butter 4. Added 1/4 cup dried fruit (blueberries and cranberries) 5. Subtstituted 1/4 C Agave nectar for the sugar I cooked it for 30 minutes and it came out perfect. It retained the cakelike texture and was moist and absolutely scrumptious. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This recipe is fantastic! The blue cornmeal definitely adds a subtle, natural sweetness to the bread. The ingredients, proportions, and cooking directions are seamless- the cornbread turned out amazing. This recipe has since become my permanent cornbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
AMAZING. Simply AMAZING. Please note that I did not use blue cornmeal because I only had yellow on hand. ALSO I ran out of baking powder 1 tsp shy of 5 (didn't matter). AND (because capital letters tell you important things) I was also out of milk and had to substitute 1/2 c sweetened condensed milk and 1/2 c water instead (I went a light on the sugar to even it out). And the sifting 3 times, melting the butter in the oven in the dish and then pouring it in seemed so strange to me. But I did as instructed anyhow. And the result was.... The bread cooked for 30 minutes, came out perfect. It's perfection. Clearly with all the substitutions I had to make, and it still tastes wonderful, you just can't screw this bread up. This is my permanent recipe now. I will never go back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Fantastic! I used gluten free yellow cornmeal and gluten free AP Blend to make this gluten free. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. Only adding a splash more milk to compensate for the gluten free flour. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I just took this out of the oven and I could eat the whole thing! Not too sweet like other cornbreads. I have never felt the need to rate a recipe, but this one is too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I substituted 1/2c butter with 1/2c applesauce and about 1tbsp butter and it still came out quite rich and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
awesome - very yummy, moist and sweet - oh so good! gotta try it with less butter next time... but it's really good if you don't care about that sort of thing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Fantastic recipe. I made two batches and decreased the sugar in the second batch by 1/4 and enjoyed it a bit more. Otherwise very good with gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Simply delicious. I've made it three times and the cornbread was excellent each time. I did have problems pouring the butter out of the baking dish into the cornbread mixture, but was more careful the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DoilyLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sugar Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Surry, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I make this regularly. I get loads of compliements every time & my kids even request it when I make white chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States