Blue Cheese with Capers and Red Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
This was a very easy recipe to pull together, though I made a few adjustments. I used less than a full red onion (as it appeared 'overpowering') and I lightly tossed the red onion in the liquid before drizzling over the blue cheese. Lastly, we had some left over and the blending of flavors overnight was marvelous. If you have the time, I'd encourage making it at least 3-4 hours ahead of time. Very easy and lots of raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
I tried this recipe the first time with my Bunco Group. It was such a hit! A nice change from the "sweet things" and everyone wanted the recipe. Since I have used it again and again and it is always well received. Very different!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Coarsegold, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I cut back on the red onion, and cubed the blue cheese instead of crumbling. Was very good and easy to pull together. Would suggest making it several hours before serving as it taste better as the flavors blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
You have to LOVE blue cheese - we do - but I thought this was a bit too much - it didn't go over well with company
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This is a wonderful appetizer that is easy and colorful. Have tried this with other vinegar based dressings...including a classic Hozel tarragon dressing. But always use Maytag Blue cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Made this for a dinner party. Fabulous. Great combination of flavors. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
After today, definitely a new favorite! Awesome combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fallnpetal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Definitely an adult appetizer, I'll add more capers next time. Very rich, but the adults loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenleaf, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This is certainly a mature dish. I decrease the amount of red wine vinegar because it tends to start tasting like Italian dressing, which usually masks anything it touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was easy dish to make and turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States