Blue Cheese Walnut Toasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I tweaked this just a bit to help decrease the fat and calories: did not use butter when browning the first side, and instead of mixing the blue cheese into softened butter, I used low-fat mayo (I'm sure you could even use non-fat, but low-fat is what I had); you just need to make sure the cheese is finely crumbled so that it mixes in well with the mayo. I also used pecans, and mixed them into the spread (but if making the spread ahead of time, would not do this until right before using). And I added just a dash of cayenne to make the flavors pop! I like to serve these with a salad of baby mixed greens with pears, pecans, and goat or feta cheese, with the Maple Balsamic dressing from this site. Yummm - better than a 5-star restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Everyone loved this, just don't cook it too long in the oven - I kept waiting for mine to get real bubbly and the toast was too toasty. We like our toast chewy and soft, next time I'd take it out sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ericka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Great recipe idea! I did make some changes. I only made two toasts (making lunch for myself) and omitted most of the butter, I did spread each slice thinly with butter. Then I put on some blue cheese, and then pine nuts instead of walnuts. Cooked for about 9 minutes at 400. Came out great! Will have to try walnuts next time. Chives would be good added too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Yum! Fabulous and SO simple. I left out the butter mixed in with the cheese in a feeble attempt to cut calories. I just love bleu cheese and walnuts together...served this with the pear and roquefort salad and beef burgundy found here as well. Thanks for sharing...my mouth is watering just thinking about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Very nice appy Elizabeth! I toasted the walnuts first to bring out more of their flavor. Loved this and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
These were absolutely wonderful! I followed the recipe as written and got rave reviews from our guests. Thanks for sharing such a yummy yet simple appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Ah-----mazing!!!!!!!!!!!!Used my fresh Rosemary and mint on top as GA. is losing its season--ha ha. use any herbs and wow thanks this is soo sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
These toasts were gobbled up at my party. Very tasty appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean-0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
These were good, too much butter though. And I would have liked something extra like some fresh garlic or some taragon or some other fresh herb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I LOVE this. I have been making this for years now only I use it on steaks not on bread. I mix the ingredients together in a sauce pan and heat until slightly melted then I put it on the steak about 2 min before it's done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creativesense

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States