Blue Cheese Stuffed Mushrooms with Grilled Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I printed off this recipe, got everything together, trotted out to the grill, tried to fire it up... No gas! So, I headed back in, shook the cheese of the mushrooms, sauteed them in butter in a skillet, topped them with the cheese, then popped them in the mic for 20 seconds. Meanwhile, I grilled the onions on the Foreman. Everything turned out really delicious! Thanks, Jeff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
As written, I would give this a four, but with a few additions (fresh ground black pepper, garlic salt and balsamic vinegar drizzled on top after cooking is complete, this becomes a five. Very simple to prepare. Left my onions very, very thick. I also rubbed olive oil on the outside but next time may try to marinade the mushrooms. Also, used Portobello. Lovely presentation also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Fantastic recipe for the grill! I marinated both the onions and mushrooms in italian dressing which gave them an awesome flavor. I took the onion slices and put toothpicks through them as to hold together the rings so they wouldn't get lost in the grill! Wasn't 100% sure on the presentation, BUT SO GOOD. They just melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leechburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wilder, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
These were great ~ I didn't change a thing. I did cook them in the stove instead of on the grill, and sauteed the onions on top of the stove. Will definitely make these again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Loved it! Tried Brie in some of the mushrooms, but Blue Cheese is definitely the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
these are a fantastic appetizer. i added a bit of fresh chive and a tad of butter smooshed together with a bit of freshly ground pepper sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I sautee mine in a pan instead of on the BBQ to keep all of the blue cheese inside of the mushrooms. They always turn out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I also drizzled with balsamic vinegar per the reviews. Thanks for sharing this simple but delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Who needs onions?! We made these without onions, just stuffed mushrooms with blue cheese. Our guest asked for a doggy bag of mushrooms! Very easy & tasty way to use up those mushrooms! We've now made several times as an easy appetizer. Thanks for great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Myers Heath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I put these on the barbie and in the oven. I didn't use onions though. The family doesn't care for them. These mushrooms were a hit! They went fast. The mushrooms are juicy, and dripping with flavor. A favorite every time we BBQ now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States