Blue Cheese Potatoes Delmonico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
WOW! I made these with ribeyes, scaled the recipe to 2 servings (my 2 older children are at my sisters for the night), and my husband cringes at the mention of cheese in a recipe (he hates it). I cut the flour down to about 1/2 of what was callde for and added some white pepper and some salt (this really needs salt). I also baked it in my toaster oven since it was a small dish, and the bread crumbs turned nice & brown, I LOVED THESE! I can't wait to share with the kids, I may even throw some ham in there to make it an easy meal. Thanks Judie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
*Deserves 5 stars because this is the BEST recipe to build upon!!* Choose a high quality Blue cheese. I sauted 2 garlic cloves and 3 shallots in the butter before adding the flour(reduced by 2 tbs.) and cooked for only one minute before adding a pint of half and half. I thinnnnly sliced RAW potatoes and lightly salt and peppered them before pouring over my sauce and crumbs. I baked at 350 for about an hour in a covered, ungreased pan. Great recipe, Judy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
So good. Takes a long time to prepare though. My husband wanted thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
absolutely awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
This was great! I put in some onion powder and salt to give more flavor (after reading some of the reviews). I actually was pleased that the blue cheese didn't stand out more. I think next time I might add chopped onions in with the potatoes. I am going to serve this one to the in-laws!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
This was a really good, quick, easy recipe. I only cooked the sauce for about 3 min instead of 20 and I added salt, pepper, and a few cloves of minced garlic. Great flavor - will definately make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
Flavor was very good. I also sauted garlic in butter and added 1/2 and 1/2 instead of cream. I used thinly sliced potatoes raw and baked for 1 hr at 350. Needed a little bit more baking time. Flavor was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I made these to go with a RibEye steak dinner -- so delicious! I was asked for the recipe. You can make ahead. I doubled the blue cheese. I would definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
This was absolutely incredible! At first I thought the bleu cheese might be too overpowering, but it wasn't. I did change the recipe up a bit based on other reviews. I changed the amount of flour to 4 tablespoons. I also added quite a bit of seasoning to it. Being that I'm from New Orleans, I like to kick it up a notch..."BAM!" I sauteed garlic in the butter and I added about 2 tablespoons of Old Bay seasoning to the cheese/cream mixture. Everyone that ate it can't stop talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
Improvised a bit -- upped the amount of blue cheese, left out the flour and used heavy whipping cream only. These really went great with a Delmonico recipe from this site (see reviews). Served with Pat's Sauteed Mushrooms (also from Allrecipes) and a bottle of Pepperwood Merlot. All the flavors complemented each other so well. Great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States