Blue Cheese Potatoes Delmonico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
WOW! I made these with ribeyes, scaled the recipe to 2 servings (my 2 older children are at my sisters for the night), and my husband cringes at the mention of cheese in a recipe (he hates it). I cut the flour down to about 1/2 of what was callde for and added some white pepper and some salt (this really needs salt). I also baked it in my toaster oven since it was a small dish, and the bread crumbs turned nice & brown, I LOVED THESE! I can't wait to share with the kids, I may even throw some ham in there to make it an easy meal. Thanks Judie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
*Deserves 5 stars because this is the BEST recipe to build upon!!* Choose a high quality Blue cheese. I sauted 2 garlic cloves and 3 shallots in the butter before adding the flour(reduced by 2 tbs.) and cooked for only one minute before adding a pint of half and half. I thinnnnly sliced RAW potatoes and lightly salt and peppered them before pouring over my sauce and crumbs. I baked at 350 for about an hour in a covered, ungreased pan. Great recipe, Judy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
Improvised a bit -- upped the amount of blue cheese, left out the flour and used heavy whipping cream only. These really went great with a Delmonico recipe from this site (see reviews). Served with Pat's Sauteed Mushrooms (also from Allrecipes) and a bottle of Pepperwood Merlot. All the flavors complemented each other so well. Great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
absolutely awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
So good. Takes a long time to prepare though. My husband wanted thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I made these to go with a RibEye steak dinner -- so delicious! I was asked for the recipe. You can make ahead. I doubled the blue cheese. I would definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
This was absolutely incredible! At first I thought the bleu cheese might be too overpowering, but it wasn't. I did change the recipe up a bit based on other reviews. I changed the amount of flour to 4 tablespoons. I also added quite a bit of seasoning to it. Being that I'm from New Orleans, I like to kick it up a notch..."BAM!" I sauteed garlic in the butter and I added about 2 tablespoons of Old Bay seasoning to the cheese/cream mixture. Everyone that ate it can't stop talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
This was great! I put in some onion powder and salt to give more flavor (after reading some of the reviews). I actually was pleased that the blue cheese didn't stand out more. I think next time I might add chopped onions in with the potatoes. I am going to serve this one to the in-laws!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
This was a really good, quick, easy recipe. I only cooked the sauce for about 3 min instead of 20 and I added salt, pepper, and a few cloves of minced garlic. Great flavor - will definately make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
Flavor was very good. I also sauted garlic in butter and added 1/2 and 1/2 instead of cream. I used thinly sliced potatoes raw and baked for 1 hr at 350. Needed a little bit more baking time. Flavor was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States