Blue Cheese Potatoes Delmonico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
very good. Definitely needs salt and I also added sauteed onions and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I made a scalloped jazzed up version of this, and it was absolutely wonderful served with buffalo chicken meat balls. I made a roux with the butter and flour and then added in the milk and half-and-half. To give this more flavor I added some white pepper, thyme, and rosemary seasonings, and added a 1/4 cup of Parmesan cheese along with Gorgonzola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Wasn't awful, but lacked something. Needed salt? onions? was simply bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDILASSITER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Excellent change of pace and the blue cheese taste isn't too strong. My sauce was somewhat thick so I think next time I will add more milk to thin it just a little. Overall wonderful variation for potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MA McBridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I have made this recipe a few times, altering it to get the correct ratios. Apparently, the third time is a charm, because this time, when I made it, it was delish! I used 1/4c butter and 1/4 flour, half & half instead of whipping cream, and 1 cup of gorgonzola cheese (I like it a little better than blue cheese). I also added salt and pepper to the flour/butter mix. It was not greasy or pasty, and we could really taste the cheese. My husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Very good. The flavor of the bleu cheese wasn't as prominent as I would have liked but that could have been the variety I used. I had some emmantaler and added that with some salt and that brought up the flavors. The final product was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Well....I did something that I never do and that is to make this without reading the reviews. I prepared them exactly as the recipe is written. They were about the consistency of scalloped potatoes and looked very good. The bleu cheese couldn't even be tasted. My husband and I liked them but my son tasted them and decided not to have anymore. I don't think I would prepare them again simply because they were a lot of fuss to get to a bland end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I wish I had read the reviews first! Everyone was right. I think that it has potential, but the amounts are all off, and it does need a little something else. I am hoping that I was able to rescue it enough to be edible. I realized that we were off course when after adding the milk and cream it went semi-solid! Don't go in unaware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I thought it was okay. It was very rich. I don't suggest it for anyone with kids. None of my kids liked it. I'd rather have scalloped or augratin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I was skeptical about this recipe because of the mixed reviews..I should have known. It was really strange. Definately not a summer dish. Very heavy, very fattening. It's difficult to describe. The topping didn't taste like paste like one reviewer said but rather had the consistency and appearance of paste. The taste wasn't outstanding either. I'm disappointed I wasted good potatoes. Definately, definately reduce the flour and maybe it would be better. Though I have to agree with one reviewer who said she thought it was beyond help! I give it two stars b/c it wasn't horrible, just really not good. It's hard to describe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEASTMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States