Blue Cheese Potatoes Delmonico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
The general idea of the flavors (potatoes/BlueCheese) sounded great, but the recipe is ALL WRONG. Should probably be around 3T. Butter and 3T. Flour and NOT 1/2 cup of each. That would make a very thick sauce, or if cooked for 20 minutes, I would think a brick. I started the recipe not realizing the measurements and ended up making around a triple batch. The recipe has you cooking the flour for 5 minutes and then after adding the flour, cooking an additional 20 minutes. I think the person making the recipe just meant it to be 2 cups of a white sauce and then add blue cheese. If I make this again, I would do as above (probaby use 2C milk instead of 1/2 cream), and also add onion to the butter or maybe onion powder. If you add too many seasonings I could see them taking away the mild flavor of the blue cheese (which will be mild once mixed with potatoes). Altogether, I like the idea of adding blue cheese for something totally different than what we would normally cook, but the recipe is totally wrong. I felt I wasted a lot of Blue Cheese on my first try, which is considered a luxury food in our household. I am leaving a 2 star review just for the unique idea of this dish. What a clever idea of adding Blue Cheese to potatoes. Made my mouth water just thinking about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAVVYSCRAPPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
*Deserves 5 stars because this is the BEST recipe to build upon!!* Choose a high quality Blue cheese. I sauted 2 garlic cloves and 3 shallots in the butter before adding the flour(reduced by 2 tbs.) and cooked for only one minute before adding a pint of half and half. I thinnnnly sliced RAW potatoes and lightly salt and peppered them before pouring over my sauce and crumbs. I baked at 350 for about an hour in a covered, ungreased pan. Great recipe, Judy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I give the recipe 2 stars, but my results were definitely 5 star. I had to make way too many changes to it. Just looking at the recipe, you can tell something's not right. For one thing, 1/2 cup each of butter and flour is WAY too much roux for just 2 cups of liquid. My bechamel would have been a brick! Additionally, this recipe needed flair. It has practically no flavoring except the blue cheese. So I sauteed some garlic and Herbs de Provence with the butter to infuse it with a little seasoning (I'm sure any other herbs you like would be fine) before I added the flour and liquids. I doubled the amount of blue cheese, added Kosher salt to taste, a hit of white pepper, and just a pinch of nutmeg to give it that little something that makes you go "Hmm." Remember to always TASTE your sauce and correct the seasonings as necessary. It's too late once your food comes out of the oven! I had a pouch of Simply Potatoes hash browns on hand, so I stirred those into the sauce instead of having to cook the potatoes first, and it made things MUCH easier on me. Topped off the casserole with panko bread crumbs, and the results were mouthwatering. So, 2 stars for a decent starting point, but I definitely had to change it to make it interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I have made this recipe a few times, altering it to get the correct ratios. Apparently, the third time is a charm, because this time, when I made it, it was delish! I used 1/4c butter and 1/4 flour, half & half instead of whipping cream, and 1 cup of gorgonzola cheese (I like it a little better than blue cheese). I also added salt and pepper to the flour/butter mix. It was not greasy or pasty, and we could really taste the cheese. My husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
Oh my...I am from the midwest, and I still found these to be the most bland things I'd ever tasted. For starters, the two main ingredients in the topping are butter and flour. In restaurants, oil and flour are heated together to add to sauces as a thinckening agent that has no flavor to ruin the sauce's taste. Right there should be your (and should have been mine) cue that this recipe needs HELP. Not to mention that blue cheese as a salad dressing flavor is very flavorful, but actual cheese is not very potent at all...However, all that aside, this recipe has potential. Reduce the amount of potatoes for sure. Use way less flour or add about 3 times more cream. Add some seasoning besides salt and pepper...garlic, thyme, oregano, SOMETHING. And forget the blue cheese, despite the catchy name. Go for a soft, crumbly cheese with robust flavor, maybe an herb spiced feta. Do all this, and although you have a pretty much different recipe, you may be able to pull this off. Even with filet mignon, as is, you will be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
WOW! I made these with ribeyes, scaled the recipe to 2 servings (my 2 older children are at my sisters for the night), and my husband cringes at the mention of cheese in a recipe (he hates it). I cut the flour down to about 1/2 of what was callde for and added some white pepper and some salt (this really needs salt). I also baked it in my toaster oven since it was a small dish, and the bread crumbs turned nice & brown, I LOVED THESE! I can't wait to share with the kids, I may even throw some ham in there to make it an easy meal. Thanks Judie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
This is a great recipe. Although I had to doctor it the second time around. The first time I followed it according to the recipe. WAY too much flour caused it to be pasty. The second time I lessened the flour and added a bit more blue cheese, and some garlic powder and fresh onions. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
This was absolutely incredible! At first I thought the bleu cheese might be too overpowering, but it wasn't. I did change the recipe up a bit based on other reviews. I changed the amount of flour to 4 tablespoons. I also added quite a bit of seasoning to it. Being that I'm from New Orleans, I like to kick it up a notch..."BAM!" I sauteed garlic in the butter and I added about 2 tablespoons of Old Bay seasoning to the cheese/cream mixture. Everyone that ate it can't stop talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
After reading all of the reviews,I decided to sautee the butter with two cloves of garlic,added garlic salt and pepper,too!I didn't add the flour,instead used one cup of fat free half and half to cut back on the excessive calories!It was full of flavor and crispy on top and not so creamy,but,it's definately a recipe you can "doctor" up!I will make this again for sure,I also sliced the potatoes thin and didn't boil the potato,baked for one hour in 350 degrees,and it turned out very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I made a scalloped jazzed up version of this, and it was absolutely wonderful served with buffalo chicken meat balls. I made a roux with the butter and flour and then added in the milk and half-and-half. To give this more flavor I added some white pepper, thyme, and rosemary seasonings, and added a 1/4 cup of Parmesan cheese along with Gorgonzola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States