Blue Cheese Potatoes Delmonico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
TOO MUCH FLOUR called for in this recipe....I had to add at least 1-2 cups extra cream/milk to get a normal consistency for a sauce. Could also use more bleu cheese for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
Oh my...I am from the midwest, and I still found these to be the most bland things I'd ever tasted. For starters, the two main ingredients in the topping are butter and flour. In restaurants, oil and flour are heated together to add to sauces as a thinckening agent that has no flavor to ruin the sauce's taste. Right there should be your (and should have been mine) cue that this recipe needs HELP. Not to mention that blue cheese as a salad dressing flavor is very flavorful, but actual cheese is not very potent at all...However, all that aside, this recipe has potential. Reduce the amount of potatoes for sure. Use way less flour or add about 3 times more cream. Add some seasoning besides salt and pepper...garlic, thyme, oregano, SOMETHING. And forget the blue cheese, despite the catchy name. Go for a soft, crumbly cheese with robust flavor, maybe an herb spiced feta. Do all this, and although you have a pretty much different recipe, you may be able to pull this off. Even with filet mignon, as is, you will be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
I read all the other reviews that said it was bland so I added more blue cheese and salted the potatos too. It was really too blue cheesey for my family. Still would make again and use original amount of blue cheese. I used potatos that I had baked instead of boiling. I also made some with cheddar and sharp provolone and they were a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mount Dora, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
This is a great recipe. Although I had to doctor it the second time around. The first time I followed it according to the recipe. WAY too much flour caused it to be pasty. The second time I lessened the flour and added a bit more blue cheese, and some garlic powder and fresh onions. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
An okay recipe, although I'd add more cheese next time; you can barely taste it as is. Pretty good overall, but not worth the time and effort involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
absolutely awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Not overpowered by the bleu cheese - nice texture. Put it under the brioler for a crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
WOW! I made these with ribeyes, scaled the recipe to 2 servings (my 2 older children are at my sisters for the night), and my husband cringes at the mention of cheese in a recipe (he hates it). I cut the flour down to about 1/2 of what was callde for and added some white pepper and some salt (this really needs salt). I also baked it in my toaster oven since it was a small dish, and the bread crumbs turned nice & brown, I LOVED THESE! I can't wait to share with the kids, I may even throw some ham in there to make it an easy meal. Thanks Judie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
*Deserves 5 stars because this is the BEST recipe to build upon!!* Choose a high quality Blue cheese. I sauted 2 garlic cloves and 3 shallots in the butter before adding the flour(reduced by 2 tbs.) and cooked for only one minute before adding a pint of half and half. I thinnnnly sliced RAW potatoes and lightly salt and peppered them before pouring over my sauce and crumbs. I baked at 350 for about an hour in a covered, ungreased pan. Great recipe, Judy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
This was great! I put in some onion powder and salt to give more flavor (after reading some of the reviews). I actually was pleased that the blue cheese didn't stand out more. I think next time I might add chopped onions in with the potatoes. I am going to serve this one to the in-laws!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States