Blue Cheese Potatoes Delmonico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
After reading all of the reviews,I decided to sautee the butter with two cloves of garlic,added garlic salt and pepper,too!I didn't add the flour,instead used one cup of fat free half and half to cut back on the excessive calories!It was full of flavor and crispy on top and not so creamy,but,it's definately a recipe you can "doctor" up!I will make this again for sure,I also sliced the potatoes thin and didn't boil the potato,baked for one hour in 350 degrees,and it turned out very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
Flavor was very good. I also sauted garlic in butter and added 1/2 and 1/2 instead of cream. I used thinly sliced potatoes raw and baked for 1 hr at 350. Needed a little bit more baking time. Flavor was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
Pretty good. It has a bit of a flour-y taste but the blue cheese definitely makes up the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
This was a really good, quick, easy recipe. I only cooked the sauce for about 3 min instead of 20 and I added salt, pepper, and a few cloves of minced garlic. Great flavor - will definately make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
The general idea of the flavors (potatoes/BlueCheese) sounded great, but the recipe is ALL WRONG. Should probably be around 3T. Butter and 3T. Flour and NOT 1/2 cup of each. That would make a very thick sauce, or if cooked for 20 minutes, I would think a brick. I started the recipe not realizing the measurements and ended up making around a triple batch. The recipe has you cooking the flour for 5 minutes and then after adding the flour, cooking an additional 20 minutes. I think the person making the recipe just meant it to be 2 cups of a white sauce and then add blue cheese. If I make this again, I would do as above (probaby use 2C milk instead of 1/2 cream), and also add onion to the butter or maybe onion powder. If you add too many seasonings I could see them taking away the mild flavor of the blue cheese (which will be mild once mixed with potatoes). Altogether, I like the idea of adding blue cheese for something totally different than what we would normally cook, but the recipe is totally wrong. I felt I wasted a lot of Blue Cheese on my first try, which is considered a luxury food in our household. I am leaving a 2 star review just for the unique idea of this dish. What a clever idea of adding Blue Cheese to potatoes. Made my mouth water just thinking about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAVVYSCRAPPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
This was yummy. Be sure and add plenty of seasonings! Also...I used gorgonzola, Tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
This was great! I put in some onion powder and salt to give more flavor (after reading some of the reviews). I actually was pleased that the blue cheese didn't stand out more. I think next time I might add chopped onions in with the potatoes. I am going to serve this one to the in-laws!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
*Deserves 5 stars because this is the BEST recipe to build upon!!* Choose a high quality Blue cheese. I sauted 2 garlic cloves and 3 shallots in the butter before adding the flour(reduced by 2 tbs.) and cooked for only one minute before adding a pint of half and half. I thinnnnly sliced RAW potatoes and lightly salt and peppered them before pouring over my sauce and crumbs. I baked at 350 for about an hour in a covered, ungreased pan. Great recipe, Judy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
WOW! I made these with ribeyes, scaled the recipe to 2 servings (my 2 older children are at my sisters for the night), and my husband cringes at the mention of cheese in a recipe (he hates it). I cut the flour down to about 1/2 of what was callde for and added some white pepper and some salt (this really needs salt). I also baked it in my toaster oven since it was a small dish, and the bread crumbs turned nice & brown, I LOVED THESE! I can't wait to share with the kids, I may even throw some ham in there to make it an easy meal. Thanks Judie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Not overpowered by the bleu cheese - nice texture. Put it under the brioler for a crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States