Blue Cheese, Port, and Walnut Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I completely omitted the butter, instead used equal parts cream cheese and blue cheese. Big hit with everyone! Made at Thanksgiving, divided into two small bowls and froze the second bowl. Defrosted in the refrigerator and served at Christmas. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
A good recipe but feel free to cut back on the butter; it only serves for texture and the recipe as written makes you feel lie you're eating butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is an extremely large recipe but it stores well so ?I made one batch and served it at three parties. Ut was a big hit but it is important to note that it has a very strong taste. I'm going to try it with a Blue Cheese Cream Cheese instead of plain Blue Cheese and see how it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olney, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
loved it, simple and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiberallyGillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Unfortunately, I did not read the reviews before making this last night, because the ingredients sounded so good. Initially, it was was way too strong and a horrid grey color. This morning I added 8 oz. of lite cream cheese (tasted it), rolled it in a ball, and covered the ball with minced walnuts. The taste is much nicer, especially on a cracker and the color is more of a pale pink and doesn't look too bad in the nutball. I would try it again, starting with a cream cheese base and then slowly adding in the blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This was absolutely delicious and didn't take long to chill. I didn't have port so I used some cab sav I was drinking. Next time I'll probably use a fun mold to dress it up a bit. The color was rather funny looking and I think shaping it would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I am a huge fan of blue cheese and was looking forward to making this to take to a Thanksgiving gathering this year (2005). It bombed. This is almost completely overpowering and of the 90 % European guests present only about 2 people barely touched it. It is in my refridge and is about to get tossed. Do not recommend. It was also very expensive to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I added 4 oz cream cheese to tone down the blue cheese. My guests loved it. It makes lots of spread. I froze half of it in smalled containers to use later when I need a quick appetizer. It tasted great but was a strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
I made this for my upcoming Super Bowl Party. Because I was disappointed I read the reviews and I noticed someone mentioned reducing the Port. I did not see that in the recipe. However, I thought it was way too strong (cheese) and did not care for it at all. It was an expensive venture and I will not be serving it at my party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Great party spread, easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States