Blue Cheese Pear Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
10 stars if I could!! The only thing that was different was that I didn't have any raspberries and I subbed pecans for the walnuts. I did toast the pecans in a dry skillet. The flavors of the pear,blue cheese and the toasted nuts with the salad greens and dressing was incredible! I absolutely loved this salad. Will definately make again, and the pears were perfect for this time of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I cheated and basically used this as a guideline for a salad with what I had in my fridge and cupboard, but it was still incredible. For two people as a side dish to barbecued pork loin, I used one granny smith apple, a good handful of dried cranberries, walnuts, blue cheese and mixed greens. I made the dressing to the "T" as noted and my husband said that this was by far his favorite dressing ever. Better than any bottled kind he'd ever had and asked if I could make a big batch of it and keep it in the fridge (and this from the guy who doesn't really like mustard!) That alone makes this one a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
FABULOUS!!! A big hit at the dinner party! I used candied pecans and had to substitute apples for the pears. A salad that could be served all year around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I love this recipe, exactly as written. I receive rave reviews every time I make it. I have substituted other types of vinegar when I'm out of cider vinegar, though, and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I have made this salad several times over the last few months - with a little less lettuce - and it has been a HUGE hit. Many, many compliments. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was delicious. It is also good with thinly sliced red onion and dried cranberries instead of fresh raspberries (which can be really expensive).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I added pureed rasberries to the vin mix. Great salad! Also used organic field greens mix. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
we really liked this! i used strawberries instead of rasberries and made some candy covered pecans. i also added half of the blue cheese to the salad as i added more to my own serving. definitly will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This was delicious, but I did make a few changes to the recipe. I used candied pecans instead of the toasted walnuts and used the apricot dressing from the Cranberry-Pear Tossed Salad recipe from this site. I took it for Christmas dinner and I think almost everyone came back for seconds. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
FANTASTIC!! I followed the recipe as written and it was wonderful!! My new favorite salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States