Blue Cheese Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I have read all the reviews. I made these tonight. They were wonderful. I add a few caveats- 1) Don't be in a hurry. The potatoes need time to cook. 2) Add the onions about 7 minutes after the potatoes so they don't cook down to nothing. 3) I had to add some liquids to get all the good browned bits off the bottom during the potato cooking time- first time I added about 1/3 c of the chardonnay I was drinking. 2nd time I added about 1/3 c of chicken broth/stock from a can. This allowed the potatoes to steam a little- I left the cover off the potatoes the whole time. 4) I didn't use 3 slices of bacon. I used maybe 1 1/5 slices and browned them first in the skillet. I took the crispy pieces out and processed them in a small food processor. I mopped up 3/4 of the grease w/ a paper towel, but left a little for flavor and 5) I only used about 1 1/2 T of butter. I also added salt and fresh ground pepper. I suppose the wine and the chicken broth made up for the lack of butter, but I felt better about it being a little lower in fat content. I used 5 oz of bleu cheese. They were WONDERFUL. We ate them with filet mignon on the grill and sweet peas. Delicious- you just have to take your time for the best results. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joppatowne, Maryland, USA
Living In: Myersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Delicious - the 2 potatoes only served the "2" of us!!! I microwaved the potatoes for 5 minutes, then peeled and sliced them. The potatoes then did cook through in 15 minutes. (If you microwave the potatoes first you can slice them and the onions and prepare it earlier in the day.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I made these last night and served them with a grilled flank steak, my family LOVED them. My husband (your typical baked potatoe with sour cream guy) told me I needed to make them everytime we have steak. They were SO easy to make and had a very nice flavor, I didn't have enough blue cheese crumbles, but I think we still got a good bit of flavor with what I had, about 1/2 of what was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laensor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheffield Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
AWESOME! Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Yummy! This recipe is great with steaks on the Barbie........Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
We loved it. I did have to put about 1/2 cup water in with potatoes to really get them cooking and somewhat softer. Just kept stirring then. came out just delicious and savory. We had it with steak. Will make again for sure... and I'm not even a bleu cheese lover! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCoorishii

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Oh, for all you blue cheese lovers, this is meant for you. This is so scrumtious....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Wow...was this ever tasty! It was the perfect side-dish compliment to my Buffalo chicken meatloaf! I used a few more potatoes because the one's I had were small and I used turkey bacon, I even threw in some sauteed mushrooms because we love them so much! It was good reheated the next day as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
WOW!! What a great recipe. I would not change a thing. If you love blue cheese you'll love this recipe! I had to fry my potatoes a little longer than 20 min but you'll know when the potatoes are done and as soon as you add the blue chesse your mouth will be watering! Thanks for a great recipe!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emilieb1
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was so good, it was almost too good. It was delicious and easy. Next time I'll try olive oil instead of butter, leave out the bacon, and reduce the amount of cheese....because it's so rich. It's great if you're not watching calories, or if you just decide to treat yourself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States