Blue Cheese Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I LOVE all the ingredients, and expected to LOOOOOOOVE this. I didn't at all. It was so heavy and greasy, and the bleu cheese/bacon clashed horribly. Not recommended. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Absolutely loved this. I used Gorganzola which is a somewhat milder blue cheese, and that works for my family. It's so nice to find a new potato side dish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKANDREWS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Very good! They do, however, take quite a bit longer than the time stated. I didn't add the bacon because I didn't have any, but may try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
It's a very good and easy recipe, the blue cheese gives it a twist from the usual boring potatoes. It's true that the onion disappears quickly and you could add it later, but the taste is there anyway. The potatoes did take longer to cook than stated, and you're better to be certain they are thoroughly cooked; I didn't put the bacon, but it really is not necessary, and used olive oil instead of butter. The only drawback is they are not so "pretty" to serve, but my guests gobbled them up all the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I have read all the reviews. I made these tonight. They were wonderful. I add a few caveats- 1) Don't be in a hurry. The potatoes need time to cook. 2) Add the onions about 7 minutes after the potatoes so they don't cook down to nothing. 3) I had to add some liquids to get all the good browned bits off the bottom during the potato cooking time- first time I added about 1/3 c of the chardonnay I was drinking. 2nd time I added about 1/3 c of chicken broth/stock from a can. This allowed the potatoes to steam a little- I left the cover off the potatoes the whole time. 4) I didn't use 3 slices of bacon. I used maybe 1 1/5 slices and browned them first in the skillet. I took the crispy pieces out and processed them in a small food processor. I mopped up 3/4 of the grease w/ a paper towel, but left a little for flavor and 5) I only used about 1 1/2 T of butter. I also added salt and fresh ground pepper. I suppose the wine and the chicken broth made up for the lack of butter, but I felt better about it being a little lower in fat content. I used 5 oz of bleu cheese. They were WONDERFUL. We ate them with filet mignon on the grill and sweet peas. Delicious- you just have to take your time for the best results. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joppatowne, Maryland, USA
Living In: Myersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Make sure to let the potatoes cook all the way. Taste in OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Wow...was this ever tasty! It was the perfect side-dish compliment to my Buffalo chicken meatloaf! I used a few more potatoes because the one's I had were small and I used turkey bacon, I even threw in some sauteed mushrooms because we love them so much! It was good reheated the next day as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
These were AWESOME potatoes! Great way to use leftover baked potatoes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
These were great. I did not use the bacon thou but the blue cheese you add when they are just about done and it melts into the potatoes and they taste gourmet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kalex
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This was really good...I made no changes other then a little extra time on the potatoes. If it was good for us I'd make it again but I don't think we loved it enough to make it a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States