Blue Cheese Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
These were awesome. I agree with the person that said take your time because we love the potatoes nice and brown on the outside. I also added some white wine and chicken stock while they were cooking to let them soak up some additional flavor while getting brown on the outside. All in all I probably cooked them at medium for an hour, but we all raved about them during the entire meal and my husband I fought over who was going to get to the leftovers the next day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I wish I could give these more then 5 stars. Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Stoker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
These were ok-we thought they were kind of bland. The kids didn't care for them at all. I don't think the addition of blue cheese & bacon really added anything to the potatoes & there DEFINATELY wasn't enough butter to fry them in-I ended up adding much more & when that all soaked into the potatoes, I just added oil. I covered them(like I always do fried potatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
My husband thought this was a 4 or 5, but I just couldn't. I'll make again because I liked it, but will make changes. I'm going to either dice or shred the potatoes. It was to hard frying such thick slices. Also, the blue cheese was to overbearing for me. I'll use less & add some cheddar jack or monterey jack type cheese. My onions burnt putting them in right away with the thick sliced potatoes. Being so thick, the potatoes didn't cook through well either.(I used a large frying pan even) I think I'd probably add miced garlic & not cook the bacon as long so when it is added to potatoes it can finish browning. These were good, but for me needs tweeking if I'm to make again. If hubby cooks, he'll probably do as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Deeelish! I completely forgot to add the bacon, but it turned out just fine. Fab all around! Oh, and i did double to amount of potatoes, which made it more like four servings, since I was figuring no way on earth would 2 potatoes feed 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, South Dakota, USA
Living In: South Hadley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I don't know if I cooked these too quickly or what, but they came out mushy instead of crispy. The flavor was good but the texture/consistency was awful. We threw out the leftovers. I think next time I would bake the potato slices until crispy and then saute the onions and toss with the potatoes and blue cheese just to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
LOVE these! Fabulous taste. The one reviewer is right about needing a lot of cook time though. They do take awhile, but worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Good except by the time the potatoes were cooked through the onions were burnt to a crisp! Had to take them all out before adding the cheese & bacon. Next time I would cook the onion first then remove and add back to the potato once cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
These were a big hit! I made them according to the recipe and they were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This was AMZING! I haven't found one person who didn't love it! The only thing I did was add more blue cheese than it called for! Thanks for such a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sami Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States