Blue Cheese Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2001
Since there were so many good reviews of this recipe, I thought that I would try it. We were very disappointed however as the garlic and onion were so overwhelming that it actually stung our tongues. I would try it again but would omit both the garlic and the onion (or, at least, cut them down in half). This is funny as we are HUGE garlic and onion fans and usually add a lot more than is required after we test a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
Very good, with some changes. Replaced 1/2 cup of mayonnaise with 1/2 cream cheese - I can't stand too mayonnais-y! Use onion powder (1 tsp) and garlic powder (1/2 tsp) so it wouldn't taste too "raw". Increased blue cheese to 1/2 cup. Used white wine vinegar instead of plain white, and 1 tsp chili powder for spice and color. Then instead of salt and pepper, I garnished with toasted pecans and served with chips, carrots, and celery. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Great salad dressing, however I lightened it up a bit by using Hellman's light mayo, reduced fat sour cream and reduced fat blue cheese. I also cut way back on the onion and garlic using just a pinch of onion powder and a 1/4 tsp. of minced garlic. I used white wine vinegar which is milder, subbed light buttermilk for the lemon juice, reduced the parsley and added a pinch of sugar. I blended everything together and let it set for an hour before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This recipe is fantastic and perhaps the best one I've ever used. I skipped the lemon juice because I didn't have any, used 1 tsp of onion powder instead of chopped onion and kept the fresh garlic. You can really taste each individual flavor in the end and letting it sit for at least an hour is a must. It became a completely different dressing after it was sitting for a while. Very, very good and we will definitely be making it again to accompany wing night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Frankfurt Am Main, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
I am a big fan of blue cheese dressing and this really is a good dressing. I only made one change and that was to leave off lemon juice. I have used it in other blue cheese dressings and I believe that is what messes them up. I will be keeping this recipe for future use as I found it to be most excellent. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
My husband and I recently got some blue cheese from a cheese of the month that we could not stand to eat. However we used it in this recipe and it was awesome! Thanks for giving us a wonderful use for our blue cheese! We didn't change a thing and will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2001
It's Great! A little spicier than most blue cheese dressings, but tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
VERY GOOD.Easy to make and great taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Great! So much better than anything you can buy in the store already made. I did add more blue cheese than the recipe called for but that is because I love the blue cheese. Recipe was very easy and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Made this tonight for my hubby to have with leftover wings from our party. Outstanding and thanks so much Nancy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States