Blue Cheese Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I rated another Blue Cheese dressing on this site as delish, but I have to say this recipe is 100 times better. I added twice the garlic which I pounded to a paste with some sea salt in my mortar and pestle. I didn't want to me biting into little chunks of raw garlic and I shredded the onion with my cheese grater for the same reason. I couldn't stand the thought of using that much mayo so I subbed extra sour cream and buttermilk for half the mayo until I had a consistency that I liked. I used part of the dressing in a Buffalo Chicken Dip and I know it helped make the dip even better than it would have been with lousy storebought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
UPDATE: I re-rated this because I made it again with half the garlic and onion and it really was very good. FIRST REVEW: I followed this to the "T" - I should have scrutinized the reviews better but had several recipes to make yesterday. I love anything blue cheese and I love garlic but this has waaaaay too much garlic/onion! I am so bummed because I made a huge batch to go with the Buffalo wings at our Superbowl party this Sunday. I hoped it would meld & mellow overnight - no such luck. I thought about adding more mayo and sour cream but I'm afraid to waste more ingredients - I should have known to try it first but it sounded so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very tasty. Used a shallot instead of an onion and didn't need to wait the one hour to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KimberCeline
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Great recipe!! Chunky, thick, full of flavor. Salads, wings, appetizers, sandwiches all call out for this kind of dressing - the kind that doesn't run down to a milky puddle at the bottom of your plate (or on your hand when eating wings?). I love onions and garlic, but cut back on those for this recipe, and still had more than enough flavor. My favorite use for this dressing is on a classic wedge, and then topped with a good Italian dressing. The combination is amazing. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberCeline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I just thought this was OK, seems something is a bit overpowering in it, maybe the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
We have this recipe routinely; I am getting ready to prepare it once again for our Christmas Eve meal. As a "go to" dressing for a special meal, this is top shelf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Used half as much garlic but otherwise stayed true to the recipe. Wonderful. Very fresh tasting. So easy to make and heads above anything you buy in the store. This one has been added to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Excellent! The only deviation we did was to use dried minced onion and dried parsley. I’m not sure what the reviewer Michelle did wrong but, there were no burning tongues here. Maybe the type of onion she used, and me using dried minced onion made the difference. I got a huge kick out of LAMB2LOVE’s review. Reminds me of my aunt whose end results resemble the recipe in name only. (Great cook though) Excellent homemade blue cheese dressing, highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This recipe is fabulous. I won't use any other blue chees now. Do though, give it the hour it calls for to allow the flavors to mix. Makes a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
THANK YOU, NANCY! This is a recipe from the early '60s that all the college wives made! I crossed my fingers, and there it was! I did not change one thing! YUMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States