Blue Cheese Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Great recipe. Keeps well in the fridge, and only improves. As a former cook in a wing place, I can tell you this: Don't try to sneak in low fat mayo or sour cream. (I've tried) Find another recipe that calls for them. A small dash each of wostershire, tabasco, fresh lemon juice, and a small crushed clove of garlic will really brighten up the flavor. I also add about 50% more cheese than called for and leave it in bigger chunks. Definately let it sit for a day or two before serving. That makes all the diffrence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
I've been looking for a creamy blue cheese dip ever since I ordered chips and dip from room service at a five star hotel in New Orleans and received ruffles and a homemade blue cheese dip. Believe it or not it was a great combination with a simple potato chip and a tangy dip. This recipe emulates that dip perfectly. I have to admit I'm not a big fan of mayonaise but I used the exact amount in the recipe and it made it nice and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
We held a 'taste test' with this and a recipe from another site. This one was by far the winner! The only change we made was to sub a quarter cup of fresh parsley for the two tablespoons dried. Aging for a few days really does improve the flavor, if you can make yourself stay away from it long enough! My husband, the blue cheese fanatic, was in heaven when he tasted this. Thank you for a perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
So good! Made this for a Thanksgiving appetizer buffet two years in a row & have been ordered to make it again next year! Definitely use high quality bleu cheese ~ makes a dramatic difference in flavour. I used reduced fat sour cream but full fat mayo ~ had a wonderful creamy texture. Also, I highly recommend making it at least a day in advance to allow the flavours to meld. We liked this best w/veggies (cherry tomatoes, red bell pepper, and celery in particular).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
FANTASTIC dip if you like blue cheese! Definitely let it sit overnight if time allows. I used finely chopped red onions (to taste) instead of green and it still tasted great. Add a little milk and you'll have great salad dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer
Home Town: Waverly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Great recipe. Be aware that it makes a ~lot~ so you may want to halve it. Also, you can control the level of blue cheese in the dip by just adding more or less of it. I added more than the recipe called for, and it gave the dip a richer blue cheese taste; it did taste perfectly fine before the addition though. Fantastic, will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Delicious!!! I added 1/2 tsp. cayenne just to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Manuel, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This dip is excellent! I had to make it twice in one weekend because it was so popular. Was great with wings. Makes a great thick salad dressing too. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Update: I have made this dip almost every holiday for my FIL, Father's Day also of course! This recipe has become one of my 'go to' recipes. This time I modified a bit. Couldn't get to the store so I used 1/2 a bottle of blue cheese dressing in lieu of the chucks and I didn't add the mayo. Turned out really good! Original review: I love blue cheese, and so does my FIL. I made this for him for tomorrow for an appetizer. I tasted-tested it and I thought it was really good! I am serving with blue corn chips. Did not add the green onions, subbed a pinch of onion pwdr. Sprinkled with garlic bread seasoning instead of garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
Makes a great dip for buffalo wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States