Blue Cheese Crusted Filet Mignon with Port Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
I have made this recipie several times now and it is awesome!!! got rave reviews on Fathers Day. If you don't like a sweet sauce use a cabernet instead of the port. I personally prefer a sweeter sauce. I also strained the sauce so it was nice and smooth. definately a keeper!! thanks hebegebe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This recipe was great. My boyfriend said it was one of the best flavored steaks he's had. I changed a lot of the ingredients though. I halved the quantity of thyme and matched it with tarragon. Instead of blue cheese i used garlic/herb feta and i added some shallots into the sauce. I didn't have port so i used merlot with two tbs. of powdered sugar. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
This is awesome!!! I've made it several times using port for a sweet sauce, and merlot if I want a less sweet sauce. Just be sure to strain the sauce before serving for a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
I made this for my husband on our anniversary. He gave it 5 stars. Thought it was very tasty. I didn't strain the sauce and used dried thyme and threw in some orange pepper and thought it came out wonderfully. I also added some Romano to the blue cheese and thought that was very yummy. I personally do not like steak and hate port. But I think I would have to give this recipe 5 stars myself for making me finish my steak. :) Only thing that didn't not turn out the best is I cooked it for to long so it was a little bit more done than medium but the sauce still added plenty of juice. We saved the leftover sauce to go on chicken later this week. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
This recipe was definitely 5 stars. Even my picky kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Enjoyed this recipe this evening. I didn't strain the sauce and still really liked it. THanks for sharing!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
My fiance and I really loved this recipe. I made it with port & thought it tasted just fine. The only problem was that my cheese topping burnt after the suggested time in the broiler. I think I just have a bad over, though. Next time I'll watch more carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Fantastic!!!! I will use this recipe again & again! It was so easy to prepare! The only thing I did differently was I strained the port sauce and added a little cornstarch to make it thicker. This does not need to be done I just like it that way! My husband does not like blue cheese and even he had seconds (I also caught him in the kitchen at 2 in the morning reheating leftovers!):) Try this recipe ~ you will not be dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonrisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
I actually used this on a roast. I had put the roast in the crock pot and made the sauce as the recipe said. Then I sliced the roast put the blue cheese mixture on and poured the sauce over it reserving some to serve with and cooked it in the oven for 5 minutes. It was FABULOUS. I had people for dinner and they went nuts for it. Thanks for a great recipe that is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Tasted like an entree from a 5 star restaurant! My husband couldn't stop raving...every bite he took...YUUUMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States