Blue Cheese Crusted Filet Mignon with Port Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
This was very good but I thought it was a little sweet. If I make this again I will probably use less onions in the sauce and try to add something to make it a little less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
I didn't do the sauce (sorry) but I didn't have the ingredients or time. But the steaks were great with the bluecheese! As good as I've had in a major steak house. I seared it and then cooked in the oven, it happen to be a hot day so I transfered the steaks to the grill for 4 minutes or so on each side then back to the broiler to melt the cheese mixture. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
I have made this recipie several times now and it is awesome!!! got rave reviews on Fathers Day. If you don't like a sweet sauce use a cabernet instead of the port. I personally prefer a sweeter sauce. I also strained the sauce so it was nice and smooth. definately a keeper!! thanks hebegebe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
Very good. I added several medium mushrooms to the sauce to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
The blue cheese/panako crumb topping was good but I really didn't care for the sauce that much. I don't know if it was because I used dried thyme instead of fresh but the sauce just didn't look pretty. I think using shallots instead of onions would be better also. My husband liked this better than I did but I doubt I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This recipe was great. My boyfriend said it was one of the best flavored steaks he's had. I changed a lot of the ingredients though. I halved the quantity of thyme and matched it with tarragon. Instead of blue cheese i used garlic/herb feta and i added some shallots into the sauce. I didn't have port so i used merlot with two tbs. of powdered sugar. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
This is awesome!!! I've made it several times using port for a sweet sauce, and merlot if I want a less sweet sauce. Just be sure to strain the sauce before serving for a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
This recipe was definitely 5 stars. Even my picky kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Enjoyed this recipe this evening. I didn't strain the sauce and still really liked it. THanks for sharing!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
I made this for my husband on our anniversary. He gave it 5 stars. Thought it was very tasty. I didn't strain the sauce and used dried thyme and threw in some orange pepper and thought it came out wonderfully. I also added some Romano to the blue cheese and thought that was very yummy. I personally do not like steak and hate port. But I think I would have to give this recipe 5 stars myself for making me finish my steak. :) Only thing that didn't not turn out the best is I cooked it for to long so it was a little bit more done than medium but the sauce still added plenty of juice. We saved the leftover sauce to go on chicken later this week. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States