Blue Cheese Crusted Filet Mignon with Port Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This was delicous! I made this for Valentines day dinner. I used a flat iron steak though but followed the directions here and they turned out nice and medium-rare on the inside like I intended. Very tender and the blue cheese/bread crumb topping was delicious. For the sauce I used 1 c of onions instead of a 1/2 cup and also used a merlot instead of port. The sauce still tasted good but next time maybe I'll try with the port.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I followed the directions exactly. My husband posted this on Facebook saying it was the best filet mignon he's ever had -- and he's 45 years old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbies-girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery Village, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Awesome restaurant quality recipe! I used onion powder and garlic powder instead, but still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This review is for the reduction only. I have to say this just didn’t work for me. I reduced the broth/wine mixture further than specified in the recipe and still had a very liquidy sauce. I would have had a better result had I stopped reducing and thickened this a bit with a corn starch/water slurry. Consequently this just dripped off the steak and onto the plate. So, I doubt I’ll be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jgbeck
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Nice combination. I also made the dinner for two and made the sauce recipe for four. Used olive oil on the steaks instead of vegetable oil. 15 minutes baking time is a little too long for medium rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgbeck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Simply put, this is fantastic. Loads of flavour. You have to make this. You will not be dissapointed. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This was sooooo amazingly yummy! For as wonderful as it was, it was really simple to make. There were two of us eating and recipe calls for 4 servings. I made it as is and we have dinner the next night too. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
My husband gave this 5 stars, I would give it 3, so we will split the difference and call it 4. It was tasty, but the blue cheese overpowered the beef, and I didn't like the texture of the crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I followed the original recipe, and it exceeded my expectations. A wonderful blend of flavors, the sauce was rich and hearty. Reminded me of a meal you'd get at a five star restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
The cheese is very, very over powering. Otherwise, pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States