Blue Cheese Crusted Filet Mignon with Port Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Did the original searing on the grill then completed in the oven. Was cautious about the sauce but made it as directed anyway & it was really good! Used blue cheese as directed & also made goat cheese w/ panko mixture. Prepared half the steaks with the goat cheese & half with the blu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Delish! We used NY strip. Perfect timing on the steaks. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Amazing!!!!! used a nice Merlot instead of port wine. Great when coupled with artichhokes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Made it last night...delicious! I made this recipe for 3 and used left over blue cheese and panko to sprinkle on sauteed asparagus and garlic mashed potatoes. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAPTORSHARK
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
holy lord this was delicious. followed recipe exactly, I made the full amount of sauce but only 2 filets. Only thing I changed was I wrapped the filets in thick-cut bacon and secured with toothpicks, and marinated them in a mixture of Burgundy wine, worchestershire, honey, garlic&herb seasoning. I also used gorgonzola not blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPTORSHARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
As a Valentine's gift, I cooked this for my wife and had it ready and waiting when she got home. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out completely perfect. It was easily the best steak I've ever prepared, and probably the best I've eaten from anywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Guyton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Wonderful - easy and delicious. We took it out at 131 degrees and it was a perfect medium rare when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This was delicous! I made this for Valentines day dinner. I used a flat iron steak though but followed the directions here and they turned out nice and medium-rare on the inside like I intended. Very tender and the blue cheese/bread crumb topping was delicious. For the sauce I used 1 c of onions instead of a 1/2 cup and also used a merlot instead of port. The sauce still tasted good but next time maybe I'll try with the port.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I followed the directions exactly. My husband posted this on Facebook saying it was the best filet mignon he's ever had -- and he's 45 years old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbies-girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery Village, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States