Blue Cheese Beef Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I used this for a couple of rib eye steaks. I marinated the meat for about six hours. I thought this was very good...the meat came out so tender and had an excellent flavor. The sauce was missing something...I think next time I will increase the Worcestershire to 2 teaspoons and see if that will do it. Overall a good recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is probably the best tasting beef I have ever enjoyed. I wanted to make something special for my wife's birthday and this was perfect. I bought the best looking (and probably most expensive) beef tenderloin I could find. I marinated it for about 4 hours. I personally am not a big fan of blue cheese but my wife is. I only applied a thin layer of the sauce to mine and she applied a thicker layer to hers. She tells me that this is a lighter and less rich version of the sauce compared to what she has had in restaurants. With a side dish of asparagus and mushrooms and a glass of Cabernet Sauvignon, it made the perfect birthday dinner for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brown City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
very good, my husband is a fan of blue cheese, this worked out great. For myself, i substituted feta instead of blue....great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This was awesome. The only change I made was instead of 1/2 cup of teriyaki I used 1/4 cup teriyaki and 1/4 cup soy sauce. Also, I marinated mine overnight, a full 24 hours. I didn't the use the blue cheese sauce on my own serving but everybody who did raved!! Thanks for such a great recipe..it's a keeper for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie O'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I made this for Valentine's Day and it turned out perfect! The marinade wasn't too over powering and the blue cheese sauce was amazing! I let the blue cheese sauce cook a little longer than I should have and that caused it to separate a little, but that was my fault. It still tasted great though. I would recommend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
OMG the sauce is so good my guests literally ate it with a spoon! Wonderful accompanyment to the tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
The beef was succulent, the marinade fabulous. That deserves 5 stars but then the blue cheese sauce was too strong and overpowering destroying the amazing flavors of the meat. I suggest cutting down on the blue cheese, probably in half and adding maybe 4 teaspoons of Worcestershire sauce to compliment the blue cheese. With these changes this might be a great meal but as of right now I can only give it three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idonteatblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape May, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was our New Year's Eve meal. Everyone liked it, but, given the cost of tenderloin and the richness of the meal, we won't be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I will make this again for sure. However, I'm not sure if this is DIVINE. It is a great recipe for one who is not sure how to prepare a tenderloin roast. Also, the cook time varies. You have to use a thermometer, and be aware of actual weight after 'trimming' the loin (if you buy the tenderloin not trimmed). Still this is a great staple recipe and will impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I made just the sauce to serve with steak and it was very tasty. I am going to try the leftover sauce on burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States