Blue Cheese Beef Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
WE tried this about a week ago and used Oregon state blue cheese and a fine Oregon Sirah. Wonderful! We substituted Elk back strap, which is much better for you and can cut down the expense considerably. It will lower your cholesterol, specifiacally the "BAD" stuff(LDL). For those that don't hunt, this recipe is an arterial clogger. I am a physician and watch that at least 80% of the red meat we ingest is game.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This was delicious! The meat was flavorful and juicy. The sauce was perfect. Smooth, creamy and not too strong. My guests loved it and several asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
OUTSTANDING! I did marinate the meat longer then the recipe called for. I marinated it about 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This was really good! I live in Mexico where the beef is not aged. The beef tenderloin has very little flavor here so I marinated this for 8 hrs and then sliced it in about 3/4 in slices- put it back in the marinade while I put a little olive oil in a pan and heated the pan to 250 (electric skillet) then seared the beef slices for about 2 min on each side- then served it with the blue cheese sauce. The meat was fantastic and very tender with a great flavor even without the sauce. I will be trying the marinade on other cuts of beef also. Muy Bueno! I have made this numerous times and I now use the leftover marinade by first sauteeing 1# of sliced mushrooms in a little butter until almost done- then add the marinade-(reserve 1/2 c.) and let it come to a boil- then add some flour to a jar with remaining 1/2 c. marinade-shake it up and add to the mushrooms-simmer until thickened. Pour the mushroom gravy over the cooked filets. Delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This is perfec!! We even used the butter to dip our bread in. Would make again, and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinconning, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I made this for our family Christmas and came out wonderfully. My father (the ultimate carnivore guru) thought this was the bomb! To prove how easy this was to make...I am a vegetarian and even I was able to prepare this entree without too much difficulty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I made these using filet mignon steaks that I marinated for eight hours and put them on the grill. I topped each steak with the blue cheese sauce and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
There are not enough stars here for this recipe. If you like beef cooked to perfection and love blue cheese, well this is for you! Just awesome. Even dressing good on hamburgs next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
So Good!!! The meat was cooked perfectly and very moist. The sauce was fabulous. I will make this one often. Thanks, J. Miller!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This was very good. I couldn't find a tenderloin, so I used filet mignon steaks. I had to tweek the cooking so as not to over cook them. The blue cheese sauce is very rich. We loved this dish. I will make this again...for special occasions seeing as how expensive the meat is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States