Blue Cheese Beef Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was just OK for me. I had this a couple of years ago... my sister made it for Christmas Eve dinner. I cooked mine the SAME way, but, for some reason, I just wasn't as happy with the end result (hers tasted WAY better than mine did). I marinated my 3.5 lb. tenderloin (couldn't find a 3 lb. one - all were between 3 and 4 lbs.) in a large roasting pan since that's all I had on hand. My sister used a small Pyrex baking dish to marinate hers. Perhaps this made a difference? My tenderloin started to smoke in the oven (i.e. the the pan juices were burning). Had I used a smaller baking dish, this probably wouldn't have been an issue. My tenderloin was not burned, but it sure gave me a scare (can you imagine ruining Christmas Eve dinner??!!?!?)!!! I had to take my roast out of the oven when it was medium-rare. I do not like any meat cooked less than medium-well (I actually prefer well done), but all of my guests like theirs RARE (I was outnumbered again... sigh). I sure got a good deal on the tenderloin. If you live in the Chicagoland area, go to Caputo's Italian Market. They always have good and affordable cuts of meat (I got my tenderloin for $20; my sister paid double this in St. Louis). Served with blue cheese sauce, potato gratin with chicken broth, garlic and thyme (by Pam Anderson), steamed asparagus and Ghirardelli individual molten chocolate cakes for dessert. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
The sauce on this tenderloin was a hit with my dinner guests! The reciped called for 2/3 cup of sour creme; I used a full cup to lessen the intensity of the blue cheese taste. I would do that again and most certainly use the recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
The Blue Cheese sauce for this recipe is very strong. A little bit goes a long way. When we served this, most people avoided the sauce, or if they did have some, they only took a small amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I used a different cut of meat..but the results were incredible. I don't even like beef, just made it for my boyfriend. Not only is the marinade fabulous...that sauce is incredible! I woke up and ate it for breakfast too! I used a large sirloin and broiled it the same way. I imagine that any somewhat fatty cut of meat would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Delicious! Everyone loved it. The meat was so tender and full of flavour, and the sauce...YUM! I will definitely add this recipe to the family favourites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
We really enjoyed this. I used a 3 lb sirloin tip roast because I didn't want to have to go buy a tenderloin. I marinated it for about an hour and it worked out great. Very tender. My kids don't care for blue cheese so I served their pieces without any sauce..even without the sauce the meat had a very nice flavor from the marinade so it's a recipe that you can easily serve with the sauce "on the side." Everyone cleaned their plates! Served with baked potatoes (my husband liked the sauce added on his potato, too) corn and warm buttered bread. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Excellent recipe. Note, it's cheaper to buy tenderloin as a whole, rather than filets anyway. Also, make sure you buy quality blue cheese as it does make the sauce. I followed the recipe and it was fabulous. I did change the cooking method slightly. I put the tenderloin in the pre-heated oven at 450 degrees for 15 minutes. I then had my hubby grill to an internal temperature of 120 degrees. Wonderful! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I went with goat cheese and sun dried tomatoes crumbled over the finished tenderloin instead of blue cheese. I also reduced down (after it was brought to a rolling boil) the remaining marinade and spooned it over the beef. It was very well liked by everyone in my family. The marinade itself is very good and am thinking I'll try it for chicken some time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momothree

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I used the marinade and bleu cheese topping on tenderloin steaks-they came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States