Blue Cheese Beef Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SARAHCANADA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Made this recipe last night and it was my first attempt at making beef tenderloin. I followed the directions exactly, although I added a bit of parsley to the cheese sauce. As far as the sauce goes, YUM!!! I'm not a huge fan of blue cheese, but am slowly acquiring a taste for it. This sauce was delicious and not overpowering. As for cooking the tenderloins...mine were a bit thick - maybe 2 inches - and although I kept pulling them out every five minutes and taking the temp... I overcooked before even hitting 140. They were medium well :( They were still very tender though, thanks to the cut of meat! I'd say don't put them at 450 for the full 15 minutes if you have a new, efficient oven! I will definitely be making this again though and will just have to tweak the directions as far as cooking the meat goes so it suits my oven better! My tip for you is to cut open a tenderloin after about 20 min at the 375 temp to make sure they are not done already! Served with maple dill carrots, garlic mashed and green beans. Sauce was great on the potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Didn't like the blue cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Just made this for the second time in two weeks. Made exactly as is except I used a London Broil rather then a Tenderloin because I couldn't find them either time! Walmart for you. Excellent. Truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Made this for my brother and his wife. We all loved it. Made it with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYODD CHRISSMASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Instead of roasting it, I cooked it on the grill (using a meat probe to ensure it remained rare). The only other change I made was to marinate the tenderloin for about 1.5 hours, turning it frequently. The blue cheese sauce was excellent -- not too piquant as to overpower the meat but not too subtle either.... just right. This has become my "go-to" blue cheese sauce for any type of meat or poultry although I still prefer a stronger one for grilled vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Excellent recipe for whole beef tenderloin. I marinated the beef for a few hours in the refrig. The beef was tender and flavorful and the blue cheese sauce was delicious. I kept the saucepan on the lowest simmer and stirred often to melt the cheese and keep it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
My family loves this recipe....with no revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Unbe"beef"able - super delicious! I took a risk and made this for a dinner party without trying it out first. The results were fantastic - it also helped that the hubby cooked it a perfect medium rare. The sauce was a fabulous complement to the tenderloin. Love - Love - Love - yum- yum -yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoecr8zy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hawthorn Woods, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Had this for easter and was a hit. Didn't have teriyaki sauce so substituted soy with some sugar (googled substitue for teriyaki) and it was still wonderful. Will make this again. Marsha in Brighton MI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I used a tri-tip because beef tenderloin was $50 at the grocery store. Meat turned out great, sauce was amazing. Everyone that tried it absolutely loved it. This was an easy recipe that I will definitely make again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States