Blue Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Oh my goodness! I have not been able to have cheeseballs in so long, so I tried this recipe for a party. Such a hit!! I made it as-is, but with less walnuts. 1/2 cup instead of 1, which was more than enough! Some hints- I put mine in an electric mixer and that blended and crushed the cheddar cheese so that it wasn't really obvious there was cheese in there- So good and creamy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I personally cannot stand blue cheese and am not a fan of cream cheese either. I made this for hubby and my 5 star rating is based off of his feedback. I made as written except that I used pecans instead of the walnuts (his preference). So simple to prepare and with few ingredients yet packed full of flavor. This one is a keeper for the blue cheese lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
My favorite cheese ball recipe that always brought rave revues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Made this tonight and couldn't wait to chill it and make it into a ball -- it is absolutely delicious! Especially if you are looking for a cheese ball with a good sharp taste to it! I made no substitutions -- only used New York Sharp Cheddar (which is a very sharp variety). This one is going into my "make again" file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MALAWIMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I have been making this Cheese Ball for years and it is still one of my favorite things ever. I usually only make it during the Holidays, but I would love to have one in the fridge all the time. The only differences I make is to use pecans instead of Walnuts and I go ahead and roll it in the nuts right away on wax paper and then wrap the whole thing up in wax paper and refrigerate it. I have found that refrigerating it first makes it crumbly and is hard to get the nuts to stick well. It is a little messy to do it soft, but it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made this cheese ball once and it was a big hit. I'm making it again to take as an appetizer for a family Thanksgiving dinner. Super easy to make and has a lot of great, but mellow, blue cheese flavor without being too strong for those who may not enjoy straight blue cheese. I followed the recipe 100% (using red onion because it didn't specify which type) and really enjoyed it served with a hearty wheat or whole grain cracker. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
As someone who is trying to find "PERFECT, MAKE AHEAD, so you can enjoy your guests" recipes, this is a KEEPER! Very EASY, yet exquisite. I'm not a fan of someone giving a recipe one star, and then you find they changed everything about the recipe - but most who changed this recipe a little, gave it 5 stars. So, I did add a little garlic powder and tobasco sauce as recommended by reviews, and since I don't care for walnuts, I used pecans. WOW!! I entertain frequently and I'm guilty of trying very complicated appetizers that keep me in the kitchen, away from the party. This recipe will be on the base list of what I am serving EVERY time, so I can spend time with my guests with a glass of wine in my hand. LOVE!! And my husband, who is not a big fan of blue cheese, loved it too. I plan on serving it alongside roasted grapes with crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
really good a little big dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This was great, made it for Thanksgiving and the family ate it up! I used Costco crumbled gorgonzola blue cheese and it was fantastic! Rolled it in a combo of chopped pecans and walnuts with some dried parsley mixed in for color. Getting ready to make again today for a holiday party. Super easy! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannonhb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This recipe was a big hit for thanksgiving. I added dried cranberries to the mix which made a sweet addition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States