Blue Cheese, Bacon and Chive Stuffed Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Extremely flavorful. I did use 1 1/2" thick chops so that instead of butterflying, I could cut a pocket in the side. It keeps all that wonderful filling in the chops where it belongs. Instead of using toothpicks to hold the pockets close, use a piece of spaghetti, it falls apart when the chops are done. Browned the chops on the stovetop, then placed in the oven at 325 for 45-60 minutes. Made a pan sauce with browned bits by adding 1/2 cup of white wine, chicken stock and 1 tbls cold butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
These were a nice and different alternative to the usual pork chop. For the filling I did as others sugg and added in alittle of cream cheese and a spoonful or two of sourcream(had both on hand)to hold together better. Also I added in some diced garlic & onion, and fresh parmesan and did half feta and half blue cheese. This is a perfect filling to just go in the fridge and use up things you have left over and need to use up. I stuffed into butterflied bone-in pork chops since that's the ones I bought and dipped them in flour and fried in olive oil to brown on each side and baked covered for 40 minutes or so. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Awesome! A couple things I noticed: you do not need to add salt, the blue cheese gives it enough and you can always add it later; and I used center cut thick pork chops and these needed about 40-50 minutes to cook completely. These were really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Made this for myself and 3 guys, and we all loved it! I used green onion instead of chives, and used half feta cheese and half blue cheese. I added extra bacon and flattened the pork chops before filling them. I also browned both sides of the chops in the bacon grease and added pepper and garlic salt to both sides. I had then in the oven for 40 mins and used skewers to hold the sides together. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCorley
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Per one of the suggestions I added some pecans and one chopped granny smith apple to the filling. I also added a few tablespoons of cream cheese to help the filling stick together. I grilled the pork chops for about 7 minutes each side over medium high direct heat instead of baking. They were really well received. I served them with roasted garlic mashed potatoes. I would make these again, its a 'guest worthy' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yenny
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was delicious!!!...I made it for my boyfriend and he loved it. I did modify the recipe like most people said: half blue cheese and half feta. I substituted chives with green onions and I seared the chops to make them nice and golden before I put them in the oven. I will definitely do them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Fantastic! Like the other reviews stated, it took about double the cooking time. Didn't add the pecan/apple mixture, and it was great without. Don't add salt - doesn't need it, but did sprinkle the tops of each chop with garlic powder and fresh ground pepper. Served with roasted potatoes and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Very, very good, my son 13 loved it as well as DH. I used Feta instead of Blue Cheese (had it on hand) Very good, very tender and flavorful. Kept stuffed thick chops in the oven for a full hour at 325*. Great Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie De
Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This is very good, but has very strong flavor. I added 2 TBSP of cream cheese and used only 2 oz of blue cheese for my 1 lb of pork chops. If you dont like strong flavored cheese, do not try this or change the cheese for feta. Otherwise nice way to use up blue cheese out of fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
These are very good pork chops. My husband absolutely loved them. I was surprised that I enjoyed them as well considering I am not a blue cheese fan (at all!) I did make some up with feta cheese in place of the blue chhese and these were also good, although I don't think they were quite as flavorful. I will definately make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4my4girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States