Blue Cheese, Bacon and Chive Stuffed Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was very good compared to the boring pork chops i normally make. My husband can not stand blue cheese so I did sub creame cheese instead. I think next time i might use feta. That sounds interesting. My six year old ate a whole chop to herself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
What the heck? This is really a little bit of pork wrapped around a crazy blob of blue cheese!! It was good- for the first bite, and then I couldn't taste much. A few bites more and my mouth began to numb... It could be good, but 2 oz per serving is WAY too much cheese. And it needs something creamy to improve the texture. The chives were totally lost, I didn't even know they were there, and the bacon was only apparent when it rarely outnumbered the cheese in a bite. Also, be careful- it's REALLY easy to overcook these chops (no real moisture inside). Could be good, with a few tweaks, but as is- blech. (no offense)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This was a fun thing to try. I used 1/2 blue cheese and 1/2 cream cheese according to the comments. Also, instead of butterflying the pork, I just cut a pocket from one side. I used spaghetti pieces to seal the chops (this was a great suggestion--thanks!). It turned out pretty good, but really wasn't my favorite. I like blue cheese, but the flavor was a little too strong for me. I think I would like it better if I hadn't used cream cheese and used rocotta instead. I also think the chops need only about half the filling--it was a bit too much. All in all, though, it was a fun recipe to try out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Do not like blue cheese. Maybe try with another kind. Took 40 min to cook pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This recipe is good, but instead of blue cheese, we substituted feta cheese (I am not a big blue cheese fan). It was delicious! Be careful about adding more salt though; the cheese in itself makes the dish pretty salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I changed this recipe so much from the original that I didn't want to rate it, but it won't let me post a review without selecting a rating! So, I'm rating MY version of this recipe, which is 5 stars. I used shredded mozzarella cheese, bacon (doubled), and green onions for the filling held together by a few tablespoons each of sour cream and cream cheese. I used 1.5 inch thick chops, and I cut a pocket in each chop. I then browned the chops in the bacon grease with a little olive oil. After that, I stuffed each chop with the filling. However, I realized that I wanted enough filling for each chop that every bite could have a large portion of the filling included, so to be able to add more filling without it all leaking out... I actually stood my pork chops on end like a taco with the pocket side up. Some of the filling leaked out, but a lot more stayed in than it would have if I had cooked the chops flat. I cooked them for 35 minutes. This will definitely be a repeat recipe in my house, though I will probably try it with chicken next time. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
ridiculously good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I had thick pork chops in the freezer and needed something to do with them- thought this sounded interesting. It turned out a whole lot better than I expected! I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was all right. Gotta love bleu cheese though. Very strong taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rootstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
For anyone who absolutely loves bleu cheese, this recipe is the one for you. The combined flavors were in perfect balance. Try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States