Blue Cheese, Bacon and Chive Stuffed Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
To be fair to the recipe, I wasn't certain if I liked blue cheese when I initially chose this recipe. The main purpose was to actually experiment with blue cheese a bit in my culinary endeavors. Unfortunately, I just didn't care for the recipe. It struck me that the blue cheese was too strong and needed to be more of an accent to the dish. I am uncertain if it was just a strong dislike for the amount of blue cheese or if the recipe lacked the necessary combination of ingredients to push it to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I have to start by saying I do NOT like Blue cheese. I thought this recipe was great and so did my family. I made some slight changes. I add a scoop of sour cream and chive/onion cream cheese (like other people suggested). I browned it in the bacon fat. Then I made a gravy in the drippings (I also added an onion & shallot to the pan while it cooked in the oven). It came out great. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
You **have to** make mashed potatoes and make gravy with the drippings. Phenomenal. To the drippings add 1 or 2 tbsp flour, and about 1/4 c. water or broth. Mmm-mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This recipe is a good alternative for plain old pork chops. However, as much as we love blue cheese...it was a little over-powering for the light taste of pork. I'd use a little less blue cheese next time....but it would be PERFECT with a steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I also browned the chops b4 baking-in the pan I cooked the bacon in, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as written and I loved it, unfortuneatly my husband is not fond of salt and said it was to salty. As for me I could eat it all the time loved loved loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This is very good, but has very strong flavor. I added 2 TBSP of cream cheese and used only 2 oz of blue cheese for my 1 lb of pork chops. If you dont like strong flavored cheese, do not try this or change the cheese for feta. Otherwise nice way to use up blue cheese out of fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
These were a nice and different alternative to the usual pork chop. For the filling I did as others sugg and added in alittle of cream cheese and a spoonful or two of sourcream(had both on hand)to hold together better. Also I added in some diced garlic & onion, and fresh parmesan and did half feta and half blue cheese. This is a perfect filling to just go in the fridge and use up things you have left over and need to use up. I stuffed into butterflied bone-in pork chops since that's the ones I bought and dipped them in flour and fried in olive oil to brown on each side and baked covered for 40 minutes or so. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I used a bone-in pork chop and cooked them on the grill - incredible! My husband devoured them. I served them with mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Made this for myself and 3 guys, and we all loved it! I used green onion instead of chives, and used half feta cheese and half blue cheese. I added extra bacon and flattened the pork chops before filling them. I also browned both sides of the chops in the bacon grease and added pepper and garlic salt to both sides. I had then in the oven for 40 mins and used skewers to hold the sides together. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCorley
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States