Blue Cheese and Pear Tartlets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Excellent! Will make again, best if served warm. Due to some of the reviews, I did adjust a little. I mixed equal parts cream cheese and blue chesse. I used canned pears and added a small amount of the pear juice to prevent the mxture from being to dry. I did drizzle the top with honey and added a candied pecan for flavor and presentation. Fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
These were just ok. The blue cheese flavor was overwhelming (and I LOVE blue cheese) so much that it was really all I could taste. I increased the amount of pear but the flavor still got lost. When it was time to serve these I drizzled each cup with the tiniest bit of honey and that made them taste much better, I recommend the honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Delicious! Easy and quick. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I used a fresh pear from my parent's tree and a high quality blue cheese, but was dissapointed in them. I guess I expected them to be a little sweeter. I used roll out pie shell and used a glass to cut out circles and put them in a regular muffin tin, it made 12 tarts. They just tasted like blue cheese, so nothing spectacular. II gave it 3 stars because my daughter(6) took a bite and said, "mom, these are fantastic" so I gave credit for her opinion. However not 5 stars since the rest of us didn't care for them. I will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksteady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
A hit at the party! I doubled the recipe but only used one package of cheese because I didn't want the cheese to be overpowering. I was able to fill 30 mini phyllo cups and still there was filling left over. They came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
If you’re a fan of Blue Cheese then here you go. I thought the blend of the cheese with the pears made a very interesting combination. Quite different, yet good at the same time. This would make a great addition to any appetizer menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Very elegant and delicious appetizer! I used 1 1/2 ripe and juicy danjou pears. I also used gorgonzola instead of bleu cheese. Added 1/2 cup of small curd cottage cheese to gorgonzola/cream mixture in order to cut the richness of the gorgonzola. Did not add pepper. Sprinkled tarts with chopped walnuts before baking. After removing from oven, immediately added a drop of honey on top of walnuts. To die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Made the recipe as you see. I wished the type of pear had been included, as size varies from one variety to another. When you combine the blue cheese and pear, the gray-blue color is fairly unappetizing, and I'm not sure why the cream is there -- it just made the mixture soupy and soaked through the phyllo. The taste was alright, texture was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
These were easy and a huge hit. Gone so quickly! I also added the walnut and honey topper as others have suggested. They'd be good without it but it really adds an extra flair for not a lot of work. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
delicious with honeyed walnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States