Blue Cheese and Pear Tartlets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This recipe is a 5 star WITH SOME MINOR CHANGES. Use 4 oz Gorgonzola Cheese in place of the blue cheese. For the shells combine 6 oz cream cheese, 1 C butter and 2 C flour. Chill 1 hr. Divide dough into 48 balls and press into ungreased mini-muffin cups. Bake at 375 for about 5 mins. Allow shells to cool. Fill with pear/cheese mixture. Bake as directed. Top with a candied walnut and drizzle with honey, as another reviewer recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
The cheese really over powered the pear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desertdessert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orondo, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I am a lover of blue cheese so I rate these higher but I could barely taste the pears. I doubled the recipe, which I probably didn't need to do. I used two 4oz containers of blue cheese and FOUR pears but still could not taste the pears. I will probably make again as they were so easy to prepare but just cut back on the blue cheese and add more pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
These were really easy to make. Although by following the recipe exactly I ended up with enough filling for about 25 tartlets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Corcoran

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
AWESOME. No really, these are seriously awesome. Not sure what it is about the combination of blue cheese and pear, but it really, really works. This appetizer is outstanding with a glass of Savingnon Blanc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was a very unique recipe! Even myfamily memebers were intrigued as I prepped it infront of them! I had to substitute milk at the last minute but it was still perfect! The flavor of this tartlet is so different, perfect when you are trying to change it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alanson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
tasty, easy and eye appealing. I threw these together to take to a lunch with a few friends and everyone enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSAGGIEAMY
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
OMG! These were so good! It was the first appetizer to go! I did follow a few of the suggestions: used Gorgonzola instead of bleu cheese & drizzled honey on the top after a few minutes of cooling. I also added about 2 tablespoons of light cream cheese to balance the Gorgonzola and to make the tart a little creamy. Also, I forgot to add the light cream at first, so I "poured" a drop onto each tart individually after I filled them. This turned out fine. There was quite a bit of mix left after filling the 15 tartletts, so I created my own tartlets by using regular philo dough (sp?) and cutting it into small squares (about 5 or 6 layers). If you make your own, make sure you brush melted butter on the dough so it will turn golden. (I forgot that step.) Next time, I will dice the pear pieces up smaller & add a piece of walnut to the finished product before drizzling the honey. The description said it was time-consuming, but I found this to be one of the easiest things I've made in a while. The "work" is in dicing the pear & filling the tarts - not time-consuming at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Great idea for a simple, different appetizer. It is easily transported. This recipe easily makes 2 packages, or 30, phyllo shells. I tried combinations of apples instead of pears and gorgonzola instead of blue cheese. Both were good. Next I'll try feta cheese with a sprinkle of oregano on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
These little appy's were elegant and delicious. If you make this for a party like I did, keep in mind that there are alot of non blue cheese lovers out there, so don't be insulted if not everyone likes them. Half of the guests turned their noses up and the other half devoured every one! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States