Blue Cheese and Pear Tartlets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I love the combo of pear and blue cheese so I was excited to try this recipe. I used a ripe Bosc pear so it was sweet enough not to be overpowered by the blue cheese. The finished product was just kind of...bland. I followed the recipe exactly so maybe it could be improved upon. Not sure I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
These were a special appetizer. Our friends had given us a box of delicious pears and we tried this appetizer when they came over for dinner. Great, different. We did add 4 tbls of cream cheese to the mixture and topped it with a sprinkling of chopped pecans. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Just made this tonight for a party-they were a hit. I added a small amount of cream cheese as I was nervous about the blue cheese being too overpowering. I thought they came out perfectly! I could taste the sweetness of the pear and thought it a lovely flavor combination. Will DEFINITELY make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This recipe is a 5 star WITH SOME MINOR CHANGES. Use 4 oz Gorgonzola Cheese in place of the blue cheese. For the shells combine 6 oz cream cheese, 1 C butter and 2 C flour. Chill 1 hr. Divide dough into 48 balls and press into ungreased mini-muffin cups. Bake at 375 for about 5 mins. Allow shells to cool. Fill with pear/cheese mixture. Bake as directed. Top with a candied walnut and drizzle with honey, as another reviewer recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
The cheese really over powered the pear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desertdessert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orondo, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I am a lover of blue cheese so I rate these higher but I could barely taste the pears. I doubled the recipe, which I probably didn't need to do. I used two 4oz containers of blue cheese and FOUR pears but still could not taste the pears. I will probably make again as they were so easy to prepare but just cut back on the blue cheese and add more pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
These were really easy to make. Although by following the recipe exactly I ended up with enough filling for about 25 tartlets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Corcoran

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
AWESOME. No really, these are seriously awesome. Not sure what it is about the combination of blue cheese and pear, but it really, really works. This appetizer is outstanding with a glass of Savingnon Blanc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was a very unique recipe! Even myfamily memebers were intrigued as I prepped it infront of them! I had to substitute milk at the last minute but it was still perfect! The flavor of this tartlet is so different, perfect when you are trying to change it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alanson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
tasty, easy and eye appealing. I threw these together to take to a lunch with a few friends and everyone enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States