Blue Cheese and Pear Tartlets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
We did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I couldn't find the phillo, so I had regular vol-au-vents: I served it for Xmas dinner and... well, the recipe was oh so simple, and everybody said it was delicious and unusual. In my opinion, the sweetness of the pear blended wonderfully with the sting from the blue cheese. To be repeated, indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I couldn't find phyllo mini cups so I had to make them out of regular sheets, so I cut & buttered 5 sheets for each tart, very time consuming. You must undercook tarts so they don't brown too much. I don't know if I did something wrong, but these were completely inedible. I had honey & diced pecans & candied pecans near by but decided it wouldn't help. Sorry, thought the combo would be great, maybe a canned pear would be sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I love the combo of pear and blue cheese so I was excited to try this recipe. I used a ripe Bosc pear so it was sweet enough not to be overpowered by the blue cheese. The finished product was just kind of...bland. I followed the recipe exactly so maybe it could be improved upon. Not sure I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
These were a special appetizer. Our friends had given us a box of delicious pears and we tried this appetizer when they came over for dinner. Great, different. We did add 4 tbls of cream cheese to the mixture and topped it with a sprinkling of chopped pecans. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Just made this tonight for a party-they were a hit. I added a small amount of cream cheese as I was nervous about the blue cheese being too overpowering. I thought they came out perfectly! I could taste the sweetness of the pear and thought it a lovely flavor combination. Will DEFINITELY make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This recipe is a 5 star WITH SOME MINOR CHANGES. Use 4 oz Gorgonzola Cheese in place of the blue cheese. For the shells combine 6 oz cream cheese, 1 C butter and 2 C flour. Chill 1 hr. Divide dough into 48 balls and press into ungreased mini-muffin cups. Bake at 375 for about 5 mins. Allow shells to cool. Fill with pear/cheese mixture. Bake as directed. Top with a candied walnut and drizzle with honey, as another reviewer recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
The cheese really over powered the pear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desertdessert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orondo, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I am a lover of blue cheese so I rate these higher but I could barely taste the pears. I doubled the recipe, which I probably didn't need to do. I used two 4oz containers of blue cheese and FOUR pears but still could not taste the pears. I will probably make again as they were so easy to prepare but just cut back on the blue cheese and add more pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
These were really easy to make. Although by following the recipe exactly I ended up with enough filling for about 25 tartlets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Corcoran

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States