Blue Cheese and Pear Tartlets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I make something similar to this; its everybody's party request. I use the phyllo sheets cut into wedges because its cheaper to feed more people, I omit the cream and also add a topping of caramelized onions. So good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Gunnison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
So wonderful!! I did use half bleu, half goat cheese, but will go all-out with the bleu next time. The pear balances the flavor out nicely. I also drizzled with a little honey like others suggested. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This sounded great but it just wasn't. My husband & I were going to serve them at a party. We didn't care for them so I had a friend try one and she said not to serve them. A total waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I get rave reviews each time I make them. I never give out the recipe because I don't want folks to know how easy they are! I just say "Thank you, I'm glad you like them" Don't change a thing. The recipe is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
We did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I couldn't find the phillo, so I had regular vol-au-vents: I served it for Xmas dinner and... well, the recipe was oh so simple, and everybody said it was delicious and unusual. In my opinion, the sweetness of the pear blended wonderfully with the sting from the blue cheese. To be repeated, indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I couldn't find phyllo mini cups so I had to make them out of regular sheets, so I cut & buttered 5 sheets for each tart, very time consuming. You must undercook tarts so they don't brown too much. I don't know if I did something wrong, but these were completely inedible. I had honey & diced pecans & candied pecans near by but decided it wouldn't help. Sorry, thought the combo would be great, maybe a canned pear would be sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I love the combo of pear and blue cheese so I was excited to try this recipe. I used a ripe Bosc pear so it was sweet enough not to be overpowered by the blue cheese. The finished product was just kind of...bland. I followed the recipe exactly so maybe it could be improved upon. Not sure I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
These were a special appetizer. Our friends had given us a box of delicious pears and we tried this appetizer when they came over for dinner. Great, different. We did add 4 tbls of cream cheese to the mixture and topped it with a sprinkling of chopped pecans. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Just made this tonight for a party-they were a hit. I added a small amount of cream cheese as I was nervous about the blue cheese being too overpowering. I thought they came out perfectly! I could taste the sweetness of the pear and thought it a lovely flavor combination. Will DEFINITELY make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States