Blue Cheese and Pear Tartlets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by LizzyBee27
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This was good. I gave it four stars instead of five due to personal taste and the fact that it was impossible for me to find a store that carried pre-made philo dough shells. I had to make my own by forming philo dough sheets I cut and buttered into a muffin pan. So for me, there was extra tedious work I had not planned on. Also, I made them with Gorgonzola cheese instead of Blue cheese, but it was still too pungent for my taste. The concept is there though, so I plan to make them again with a different, milder, cheese, and....after I find a place that sells the shells pre-made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyBee27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Wah-Waaaaahhh. This was NOT a hit at all. People who tried said that they weren't "mad that they ate it, but they didn't want another one."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
These needed honey at least, the pears didn't do ANYTHING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CourtneyRaedio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Yummy! Definitely lessen the cheese add more pears and mos def add walnuts (crumbled) I put light cream, cream cheese and walnut. I used Pillsbury crescent seamless dough, cut into squares. You want to preheat the dough, so it is not so doughy after baking with the ingredients. Adding Honey after baking would def increase the yumminess!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DearAbby
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
These were interesting to say the least! I am not a big fan of "stinky" cheeses (mmm give me Mango Brie any day of the week!), but I loved the idea of mixed flavors! I used premade phyllo shells (BOGO free sale) and doubled the recipe. I think the blue cheese was a bit strong for the pear, I followed in other reviewer's footsteps and added a drizzle of honey to them. It did the trick!Keep an eye on the tarts and make sure to take them out at 15 minutes, they singe easily. Mine are extra crispy as I was trying to overcompensate for an underripe pear. Using a very ripe pear may help with the sweetness as well. The taste is growing on me, they might not make it to Thanksgiving at the folk's tomorrow...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DearAbby

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mystic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Oakdale, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Is "cream" supposed to be cream cheese?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Buescher-Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Different, but not 5 stars. I think even adding a little cream cheese and drizling honey on top, it's still overly sour. Maybe cut the cheese in half so the sweet pear note is heavier. As is, feels like you could get a stomach ache quickly from just a few of these. I will modify it more before serving to guests for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
ok, not awesome. overwhelming taste and I like that kind of thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Wow! I took these to a party and got rave reviews! Never have I spent so little time on an appetizer and rec'd so many compliments. I read the other reviews and used a mixture of gargonzola and cream cheese with the drizzle of honey and the candied walnut on top. These are so good!!! Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
The filling is delicious but we weren't a fan of the phyllo cups...Made them a second time using canned crescent rolls, which I cut to bite-sized pieces and folded over/sealed. Much, much better. I think the filling might be good deep-fried in wonton wrappers - I'll try that next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrington, Maine, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States