Blue Cheese and Pear Tartlets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I just made this today, with a couple of modifications. I used a ready prepared pie crust instead of phyllo and used biscuit cutter. Baked tart crust for 5 min on 325 degrees before adding filling; then baked an additional 15 min. Crust was perfect this way. I didn't have light cream so I used a few dollops of vanilla yogurt - that gave it a little sweetness without using the honey that some people recommended at the end. Also, sprinkled with chives before baking. The blue cheese flavor is strong, and I like it but not everyone does. As some suggested, I think I will use more pear or apple next time to cut the sharpness a little. I think I will add walnuts to the filling next time, too, because I'm missing a little crunch (Phyllo would have helped with that). All in all, very tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
These were a big hit at the Christmas party! I followed others advice and substituted Gorgonzola for the Blue cheese, added chopped walnuts and finely chopped candied ginger to the mixture before adding to the tartlets. After they finished baking and cooled for a bit, I drizzled honey on top. Others said that keeping them warm was tricky but I found that when they cooled to room temperature, they were a little sweeter which made them perfect! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I loved these lil tartlets, but my guests did not eat many. I suspect the blue cheese was overwhelming for most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Wow, so delightful, although our phylo didn't hold as much as I would havee liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Really tasty. They look and taste more complicated than they are! Made them for thanksgiving and got a lot of compliments. Only change I made was switching out the cream for milk since that's what I had at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Did not like the strong blue cheese flavor. Only thing going for it was it was easy to make. Tried it also with goat cheese, did not like that either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Easy to make when you buy the frozen cups. Everyone liked them. I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I made these for Christmas brunch and everyone loved them. This recipe is so easy. Also I used pre-cooked cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Great! I used half cream cheese and half Gorgonzola, and it was plenty blue cheesy! I added a drop of honey on top as some suggested...I will leave that off next time. Also I used heavy cream (just because that's all I had), and it worked fine. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Love these. I use the blue cheese when we stay home and use gorgonzola when I take it to parties. So easy but yet so elegant. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbie4u28

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewistown, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States