Blue Cheese and Dried Cranberry Tossed Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I made this salad with a couple adjustments. I didn't have cuke, so I added some sliced red onion and also some apple chunks. It is now my absolute fave summer salad. Try adding blueberries, also, it's a great salad for fruit and the balsamic tastes great with it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saratoga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Really nice flavors. I did add more cranberries - personal preference. Once the balsamic vinaigrette is gone I'm going to use raspberry vinaigrette on the salad instead. I bought good blue cheese & I really liked it better than the cheaper stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Very Very Good. Consider altering the ratio fo cheese and cranberries to romaine hearts, I halved the greens so as to get more blue cheese and cranberry goodness in each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hugh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Try pistachios instead of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sumehra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This is an amazing salad! I personally don't add the cucumbers and walnuts. The combination of tomato, blue cheese, and cranberry works so well together, sometimes i just skip the lettuce and eat that by itself! I use oil and red wine vinegar as my dressing and the flavor is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Everyone loved this salad. I made this with a Cranberry/Orange Pork Tenderloin recipe and this came out more flavorful. Good combination. Cranberries, toasted nuts & blue cheese are great with the balsamic. A diner was hesistant to eat it because he doesn't like balsamic/oil based dressings, but he was pleasantly surprised by the blend and had seconds. Great simple work free salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was so delicious it almost didn't need vinaigrette. I had no grape tomatoes so cut up small hothouse tomatoes instead. I also used the bulk spring salad greens as well as some romain hearts. Then I made a simple salad dressing of a very aged balsamic vinegar (which has an amazing sweet flavour) and a gourmet orange olive oil, salt and pepper and that made the salad perfect. I recommend you use a high quality vinaigrette or high quality ingredients to make your own. Be careful not to burn your pecans when you toast them in the cast iron pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Ok - made it for a dinner party. I used feta instead of blue cheese. Maybe that is what made it so-so. But those toasted walnuts were the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I love this fresh tasting salad! It is the perfect salad for the hot summer months. I don't always have pecans on hand and use whatever nuts I have on hand, pumpkin seeds usually but roasted almonds are a good crunchy choice too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I took this to a church luncheon. It was SO easy to put together, but looked very festive in a trifle dish. I didn't dress it, just put a bottle of fat free raspberry vinaigrette next to the bowl. All gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States