Blue Bacon Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I thought these were phenomenal! I forgot to take the bacon out of the freezer, so I left it out. So these can very easily be adapted for non-bacon eaters. I can't wait to make them again WITH bacon. Bacon, Bleu cheese, mushrooms...mmmmm, makes me drool just thinking about these warm creamy bites of heaven. *** I made these with bacon and was disappointed, not much change in flavor. Don't get me wrong, they are still wonderful, but not really the bacon flavor I was hoping for.***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I made these for my New Year’s Eve party and they were a big hit. They are rich and tasty and very easy to make. I made a few small changes 1) I had precooked bacon on hand, so I used that. In place of the bacon fat, I cooked the onions and mushroom stems in olive oil and butter. 2) I used panko instead of regular breadcrumbs. 3) I don’t have a blender, so I just chopped things very fine, and mixed everything together. Finally, I made the filling the day before, then stuffed the mushrooms early the day of the party and refrigerated until I baked them later in the evening. This seemed to work out just fine, and made prep for the party much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Love it! My husband said, "we are bringing this to every party we go to". I didn't blend or process the filling as recommended, we liked the chunkier texture. This has been in my recipe box for months waiting for the right occasion. This quiet afternoon was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Great recipe! We took them to a New Year's Eve party - they disappeared in minutes and received rave reviews! I made enough for 24 and found that neither a blender nor food processor could handle the quantity. Next time I'll use a mixer. Also, in making enough for 24 we had filling for twice the number of mushrooms. I will consider reducing the amount of cream cheese, blue cheese, and bread crumbs for larger quantities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
These were great! Mushrooms are not for everyone but those who ate them loved them! Makes a lot of stuffing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I made this for Christmas Eve and again for Boxing Day (Canada). Rave reviews were received. It does make alot of filling, but then again, I wanted alot of mushrooms. This is definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These were fantastic! I made them for my New Year's Eve party and, even having made three times the number of caps, they disappeared in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Being a huge blue cheese fan, I couldn't wait to try this recipe. These are amazing! I have made them twice in the last month and garnered rave reviews. The second time I used gluten free cracker crumbs for my fil and you couldn't tell a difference. Certainly a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyhome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Thank you Maggie for a fantastic recipe. I've made it a couple times now and have made only some small changes. We are big blue cheese fans so I added more blue cheese. I didn't add the butter to the bacon grease. I just cooked the garlic and mushroom stems in the bacon grease. (which is a must) Lastly instead of the bread crumbs I took a 1/2 a cup of cheddar fishy crackers, put them in my mini food processor and then added them to the cheese mixture. This has joined the family favorites file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Simply awesome a must try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States