Blue Bacon Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I made these for my New Year’s Eve party and they were a big hit. They are rich and tasty and very easy to make. I made a few small changes 1) I had precooked bacon on hand, so I used that. In place of the bacon fat, I cooked the onions and mushroom stems in olive oil and butter. 2) I used panko instead of regular breadcrumbs. 3) I don’t have a blender, so I just chopped things very fine, and mixed everything together. Finally, I made the filling the day before, then stuffed the mushrooms early the day of the party and refrigerated until I baked them later in the evening. This seemed to work out just fine, and made prep for the party much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I was *planning* on following this recipe exactly, and I did - all the way up until the time came to put the ingredients in the blender. Then I had a Celeste-ial intervention. She said, "Sunny, don't do it! You are a texture-monkey. You need this stuffing to remain the way it is." So I listened. I believe this is a 5-star recipe blended, unblended for texture-monkeys only. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I made this recipe for a ladies evening in my neighborhood. They were fabulous! My changes: I cooked the bacon in the microwave and then carmelized the mushroom stems, onion and garlic in olive oil. I did not use a blender, but did dice the mixture fine. I used panko bread crumbs and did use my mixer to incorporate all ingredients. I I actually made the filling the evening before, refrigerated it in a sandwich baggie overnight and then let it sit on the counter for 30 minutes before snipping off a corner of the baggie and piping it into the muchroom caps. I did use Cremini mushrooms - 16 oz. (2 packages) to be exact. I feel these mushrooms are beefier and stand up better to oven baking and holding stuffing. I baked for 20 minutes in a 400 oven in a shallow Corningware dish. I adjusted the recipe to make 8 servings but I used only 1/2 the filling and was able to fill about 30 some mushrooms! I still have left over filling in the fridge, but I believe I'll use it as a stuffing for chicken or a topping for ribeyes! Everyone of the ladies loved these mushrooms and several mentioned they'd have never known there was blue cheese in them! I had a woman who hates blue cheese eating multiples! These were really delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilberts, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I made this for a shower at work. The flavor was excellent, and everyone loved them. However, I had a TON of filling left over, which may have been because I multiplied the recipe. I turned the leftover filling into a hot dip. Also, the blender didn't work for me. I ended up using a mixer to mix everything together. It's a great entertaining dish that just needed a bit of tweaking for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora Phyllis Jernigan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
OMG! This is one of the best appetizers. One thing I recommend doing is drizzling a little olive oil over the mushrooms prior to stuffing them, this ensures they stay moist. I took it to a friend's house for Girls Night and it was a big hit. I did have a lot of stuffing left over, but I heated it up and used it as a dip the next night. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
These were such a big hit. I made a large batch (doubled the recipe) of them for a christening for my granddaughter last night and every one disappeared and was asked repeatedly for the recipe. I used a chopper to finely chop the mushroom stems and the onion and used a fork to mix all the cheeses together - did not use a blender. I mixed two different cheeses to make these along with the cream cheese. I used a good quality blue cheese for 1/2 and used a sharp cheddar cheese which was finely grated for the other half. Lots of great flavors. Definifitely try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I thought these were phenomenal! I forgot to take the bacon out of the freezer, so I left it out. So these can very easily be adapted for non-bacon eaters. I can't wait to make them again WITH bacon. Bacon, Bleu cheese, mushrooms...mmmmm, makes me drool just thinking about these warm creamy bites of heaven. *** I made these with bacon and was disappointed, not much change in flavor. Don't get me wrong, they are still wonderful, but not really the bacon flavor I was hoping for.***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I was neither here nor there on this recipe I will definitely try it again and feel it works well as a change of pace for mushrooms but it did not WOW me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I took these to an appy party and they were the absolute hit of the party! Delicious! I mixed the stuffing with my stand mixer instead of a blender and it was the perfect consistancy. I used panko crumbs for the bread crubs. What is really great is that these are easy to make ahead of time and then just pop into the oven. This is a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
These are good and super rich. The only problem I had was that the actual mushroom came out pretty soggy. I'm not sure how to fix that though. This may have been because I made them a few hours in advance and put them in the fridge before cooking them. Also, I used "stuffing" mushrooms which are pretty large and I got 9 stuffed mushrooms with no filling left over. We will make these again because of the great flavor. Next time I will make them right before cooking maybe that will solve the soggy mushroom part. Thanks for the recipe. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States