Blue Bacon Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Wow... this was absolutely delicious. It DOES make a lot of stuffing and we didn't have a ton of mushrooms. I food-processed everything except for the breadcrumbs, and then mixed in the crumbs to half of the filling, and used the non-breadcrumb half as a dip and it was delicious. Bacon, creamcheese, blue cheese, garlic, onions... what is there NOT to love about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This is an amazing recipe, probably the best stuffed mushroom recipe on this site. I didn't use a blender but it still came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I made this recipe for a ladies evening in my neighborhood. They were fabulous! My changes: I cooked the bacon in the microwave and then carmelized the mushroom stems, onion and garlic in olive oil. I did not use a blender, but did dice the mixture fine. I used panko bread crumbs and did use my mixer to incorporate all ingredients. I I actually made the filling the evening before, refrigerated it in a sandwich baggie overnight and then let it sit on the counter for 30 minutes before snipping off a corner of the baggie and piping it into the muchroom caps. I did use Cremini mushrooms - 16 oz. (2 packages) to be exact. I feel these mushrooms are beefier and stand up better to oven baking and holding stuffing. I baked for 20 minutes in a 400 oven in a shallow Corningware dish. I adjusted the recipe to make 8 servings but I used only 1/2 the filling and was able to fill about 30 some mushrooms! I still have left over filling in the fridge, but I believe I'll use it as a stuffing for chicken or a topping for ribeyes! Everyone of the ladies loved these mushrooms and several mentioned they'd have never known there was blue cheese in them! I had a woman who hates blue cheese eating multiples! These were really delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilberts, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Another 5 star rating! Made these for my DDIL's baby shower and they were raved about by everyone! I, too, did not blend the mixture, but diced very fine. If you do not blend, be sure to let the cream cheese come to room temp, makes it a whole lot easier to work with. Also used a mild bleu cheese (Amish bleu cheese purchased at Whole Foods which I got really cold and grated very fine)and put in a little extra bacon (can you ever have too much bacon?)I used fresh button mushrooms, put the filling in a Ziploc bag, cut the corner and piped the filling into the mushrooms. Baked them on a jelly roll pan sprayed with butter flavored Pam. About 40 "thumbs up" on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I made half blue cheese / half cheddar because my husband doesn't like blue cheese. I thought they turned out really yummy. I used bacon crumbles instead of frying bacon and used olive oil to cook the mushroom/onion/garlic mixture. I didn't blend the mixture because I like my mushroom filling a little chunkier, not smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrea Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roeland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
these are great! everyone LOVED them. so easy too. i used gorganzola instead of blue cheese. i also added a bit of white wine to the bottom of the baking dish while they cooked. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I made these for the bf. I don't esat mushrooms, so I didn't try. He really liked them. I used dried minced onions since bf doesn't like onion and used about an ounce of blue cheese and the rest in feta bc i didn't have enough blue cheese. He pronounced them good, so it's a success! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Fantasic Recipe! What great flavor! When I took them out of the oven they were a little on the dry side, so I covered them with tin foil while they cooled and that did the trick. I also replaced the blue cheese with feta. YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I was *planning* on following this recipe exactly, and I did - all the way up until the time came to put the ingredients in the blender. Then I had a Celeste-ial intervention. She said, "Sunny, don't do it! You are a texture-monkey. You need this stuffing to remain the way it is." So I listened. I believe this is a 5-star recipe blended, unblended for texture-monkeys only. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I made this for a friend to take to a potluck. It was so easy to make. I doubled the amounts to serve more people, didn't add the butter to the bacon grease for cooking the onions, and used Boursin cheese instead of regular cream cheese. They were so good, and I got what I feel is the best compliments of all: My friend's coworkers are asking for the recipe, so you are to be thanked lots! Thank you so much for a great recipe, I know I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking_with_gas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States