BLT Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Such humble ingredients for such big flavor! Pared down the fat content in the dressing using low fat mayo and 2% milk and added onion powder for an extra boost! Left out the salt as the bacon provided enough without adding extra.... This is a great salad to use up cherry tomatoes that seem to flourish profusely in the summer garden. Only addition was an avocado which was the perfect finishing touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
319 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I didn't use a whole pound of bacon, just half of the package that was left after I made meatloaf. I used a mixture of fat free sour cream and lowfat mayonnaise and a spring green mix. We all enjoyed this a lot, especially my oldest who has a real thing for bacon. He takes after his mother. ;) Next time, I think I'd just use a homemade ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
305 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Yummy, yummy, yummy! What can I say, but YUMMY! I did make a few changes to this recipe, but nothing really out there. With my husband on a diabetic diet, I immediately knew the regular mayo had to go. I replaced it with Hellmans Just 2 Good, used skim milk, and added a tablespoon of lemon juice to the dressing. I used a mix of Romaine, Spinach and Red Leaf lettuce, Halved cherry tomatoes and in place of the bacon (that pesky diabetic diet again) I used one bag of the Hormel Real Bacon Pieces. I also tossed in 1/4 cup of finely shredded sharp cheddar. It's also great with shredded or sliced chicken breast added, it makes it taste like a chicken club salad.Even my extremely picky 6 year old loved it. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I didn't expect this recipe to be a big hit since the ingredients are so basic but it was. Everyone liked it and asked me to bring it again at the next gathering. I've been asked to email the recipe to people. You must use Romaine or Spring mix or Mediterranean mix. Iceberg does not work at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I made this recipe for a holiday get together and it was a hit! I did modify the recipe a little based on others reviews. First, I baked the bacon on a foil-lined cookie sheet at 425 degrees for 15 minutes. It took 2 batches to cook 1lb of bacon. Baking the bacon seemed to work well for this recipe b/c I was able to do some of the prep work while the bacon was cooking without having to constantly check and turn the bacon. Second, I used 1 cup Hellmans lite mayo and 2 tbsp daisy sour cream. I added garlic and onion powders then added just enough 1% milk to get a good dressing-like consistency. Without the milk I thought the dressing would be too thick. I chopped 4 roma tomatoes and placed them on a plate with paper towels to soak up the juices. I chopped and peeled 1/2 cucumber. I used 1 and 1/2 heads of romaine lettuce and gave a generous sprinkle of finely shredded cheddar cheese. I mixed the lettuce, cucumbers and cheese in the serving bowl. I placed my crumbled bacon in a ziplock and my chopped tomato in another zip lock. I placed a lid over my dressing and took a bag of Texas Toast garlic croutons with me. Once at the party, I threw the bacon and tomato in the bowl, tossed with most of the dressing and sprinkled croutons on top and viola! As a side note, when I tasted the dressing before I put in all together, it didn't taste all that spectacular, but mixed with all the ingredients it was delicious. Also I think only real bacon (not precooked/bacon bits) wi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
This is an awesome tasting recipe but the fat content is terrible. Use Hellman's low fat mayo (1/2 cup instead of 3/4) and mix in some low fat sour cream and a bit more milk (adjust to desired thickness) as well for a fresher, healthier taste. Use less bacon and substitute chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
I made this for a baby shower---it was good. Added grape tomatoes, hard-boiled eggs, avocado, extra bacon, and adjusted the dressing as others suggested--garlic powder with parsley, sour cream, Miracle Whip, milk, Whipping cream, and shredded cheddar cheese. used store-bought croutons. Baby spinach and cut-up Romaine lettuce added a nice texture. Great for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
This is very similar to a recipe my sister gave me. She owned a restaurant about 18 years ago. We never measure anything except the sauce. Just use own judgement. We used about a head of iceburg lettuce, fried up some bacon and crumbled, added some cooked chopped up chicken(can be light or dark meat), diced tomatoes. The dressing was 1-2 cups mayo mixed with 1/3-1/4 cup bbq sauce. Add 1 tsp. lemon juice.(use own judgement on how much dressing to use). Minced onion is optional(I don't use it). Add the dressing just before eating. This a little variation from this recipe and it is so good! Thanks D.L.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I cooked 3/4 pound of bacon in the microwave, then crumbled it using the blender. Then I poured out the bacon bits and mixed them thoroughly with the chopped tomatoes so the bacon and tomatoes could flavor each other. There were lots of bacon bits still clinging to the side of the blender, which I then used to make the dressing. For the dressing, I used 1/2 cup of mayonnaise and 2 heaping regular (non measuring) teaspoons of sour cream but no milk (I did not need any additional salt). I also used slightly less garlic powder than the recipe called for, even though I LOVE garlic. I used some bagged romaine lettuce this time, but next time I will use green leaf. This was really, really good! The mayo/sour cream/bacon bits dressing was delicious. I kept the lettuce, tomato and bacon mixed together, but added the dressing and croutons at serving time. EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wickes, Arkansas, USA
Living In: South Orange, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
I enjoyed this salad, but did make some changes after viewing the reviews from other people. I used 1 tsp. of garlic powder, 1 tsp. of onion powder, 1 tsp. of oregano and a hefty dose of freshly ground pepper. Thanks Mooney for a great recipe. Definately a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States