B.L.T. Salad with Basil Mayo Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
Wow! This recipe is definitely a keeper. I served it for the first time last night with dinner with our friends. It was so good they had 3 or more salad bowls of it and wanted to skip dinner and just have the salad. It's that good! Don't miss this one. The recipe says it serves 4 but I'm sure it's a typo. 8 is more accurate. Thanks, Kimber
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
This is a wonderful salad! My entire dinner party loved it! I did add 1 pound of bacon to the salad and added garlic and onion powder to the croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
I made this the first time for company. Because of the high fat content, I won't make this on a regular basis. But for company, a must!! Everyone raved about it. The whole salad disappeared before my eyes and I only got one small helping. I used a whole pound of bacon and made extra croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2001
Terrific salad, exceptional dressing. Go ahead and make the croutons--you won't be sorry. Try this dressing on a BLT sandwich or tortilla roll-up--fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
We loved this recipe and will be making it again and again. The quick, creamy, tangy dressing and easy croutons made this recipe wonderful! We used about 3/4 pound of bacon for added crunchiness. Most of the recipe can be quickly made, but the bacon takes the longest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
This salad was a huge hit with my husband and I. I used grape tomatoes instead of the suggested cherry tomatoes and found this to be a delicious variation on a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUSHPUPPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
Very yummy! I did use a full pound of extra thick bacon, and added a tablespoon or so of milk to the very thick dressing (light mayo worked great). One note about the croutons - the amounts listed for salt and pepper were very heavy even though I doubled the bread - start at about 1/3 of the amount listed and go from there. FYI, these are 4 VERY LARGE servings!! For typical side salad servings, it would be closer to 8-10. Such a great salad & it does taste just like a BLT. It even kept well in the fridge overnight, to my delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
This was very easily quadrupled for a large family gathering. Everyone raved about it and were fighting to get seconds and thirds! I gave it a slight variation.... as my brother put it, "Good call on the grape tomatoes!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
Gosh was this great! I could not find fresh basil, so used dried instead. The croutons are wonderful, the cubed bread really shrunk upon toasting in the pan. I am glad because after cubing the bread it seemed like ALOT. I will make this again. We had it as a main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
Absolutely great! The dressing is fantastic. We had this as a main dish and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States