B.L.T. Salad with Basil Mayo Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
Very yummy! I did use a full pound of extra thick bacon, and added a tablespoon or so of milk to the very thick dressing (light mayo worked great). One note about the croutons - the amounts listed for salt and pepper were very heavy even though I doubled the bread - start at about 1/3 of the amount listed and go from there. FYI, these are 4 VERY LARGE servings!! For typical side salad servings, it would be closer to 8-10. Such a great salad & it does taste just like a BLT. It even kept well in the fridge overnight, to my delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I have always used this recipe for the dressing itself and don't find it necessary to change a thing. The bacon drippings provide a nice, rich flavor. Use a light hand when dressing your greens, and because this is a heavier dressing, it works perfectly with the Romaine lettuce called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
Yummy! I didn't have any fresh basil on hand but still turned out well and my advice to future cooks is to let the bread cool before tossing in salad or else it all turns mushy and not so appealing. Overall, very good and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
OMG! What an incredible salad! The dressing was awesome and just about anything that contains bacon my husband is all over it. This was no exception. The only thing I added to take it over the top was some sliced avacado and swiss cheese - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Don't know about the reviewer who didn't like the Avocado - unless I read it wrong, Avocado isn't called for in this recipe. Anyway, I taste tested the dressing before and after adding the basil. Even though I'm a huge basil fan, I think I liked the dressing better without it. Since basil is not a traditional BLT ingredient, I'll omit it next time. Also, we usually don't have croutons on our salad, so I decided to add the salt, and pepper to the prepared dressing. The whole tsp of pepper was great, but the tsp of salt was too much in combination with the bacon, which is already fairly salty - I added more mayo and some milk to compensate. Next time I'll add the salt to taste. Please note my rating of 4 stars was not because of the revisions I made to this recipe, but because I thought the dressing, prepared as directed, tasted better without the basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
Great! But use fat-free plain yoghurt instead of mayo for a healthier salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
This was a wonderful salad to serve on a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
Was the hit of a picnic. I am in England and the English love BLTs and they thought the salad was a very clever picnic idea! I just packed the croutons and dressing separately then mixed them all together once the picnic started.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Windsor, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
This is a wonderful salad with something for everyone! I took it to a pot-luck last night and it was a huge hit. I used red and yellow tomato wedges, pepper bacon (oh yaaa), and added cubed avocado. I prepared the dressing in the blender, using a whole package of basil, it was cool, creamy, and delicious. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Good Salad, Kimber. However, the dressing was a little too pungent for us. Fortunately it was tasted before I dressed the salad. A teapoon of sugar and a little garlic powder helped out. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States