B.L.T. Salad with Basil Mayo Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I have always used this recipe for the dressing itself and don't find it necessary to change a thing. The bacon drippings provide a nice, rich flavor. Use a light hand when dressing your greens, and because this is a heavier dressing, it works perfectly with the Romaine lettuce called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Pretty good salad...I especially liked the dressing recipe. However, I made only half of the dressing and that was MORE than enough. I used the amount suggested of cherry tomatoes, and Hubby thought that was alittle to many. But overall...delicious,,,just not so much dressing! left-overs get wilty fast, so eat what you make right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canaan Valley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Very easy and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canning Vale, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Not bad, but needs tweaking. First of all, use the full amount of bacon drippings or else decrease the vinegar. Otherwise the dressing is too sour. Also, I thought it needed some additional things in it, so I added sugar snap peas, walnuts and avocado. It would also have benefited from some cucumbers or something. Very good idea though, and a great main-course salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSHARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delaplane, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This is probably my favorite salad ever. I have a lot of fresh basil in the garden, and this is a great way to use it. The croutons are to die for. I fry them in the bacon fat. Mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
great salad for low carbers! made cruton with low carb wrap added garlic powder salt and pepper to fried with butter i pan, gave salad that crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This is a very flavorful salad and I can see other applications for the dressing alone! I used red and green leaf lettuce, which was also good, but a bit softer. I think next time I'll mix in some iceberg lettuce as well... just tired of romaine since we, if we eat salad at all, usually have a Caesar. This was a nice change of pace! DH is not a big salad eater, so I make a lot of fresh veggies in other ways than salad per se. He didn't rave about it like he does Caesar, but I really didn't expect him to! I served this at his birthday dinner and was asked for the recipe, so I know it's a keeper! Thanks for the great alternative, Kimber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
The dressing is a little thick, but overall it is a GREAT salad... one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Not great. Used lettuce and basil from the garden, expected more of a bacony taste. The vinegar was really strong in it, and I love vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States