B.L.T. Salad with Basil Mayo Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Made this for a family get together and everyone loved it! Followed recipe almost exactly... I don't really measure much of anything as I cook... just taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amirah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
this is a wonderful salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPOOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I have always used this recipe for the dressing itself and don't find it necessary to change a thing. The bacon drippings provide a nice, rich flavor. Use a light hand when dressing your greens, and because this is a heavier dressing, it works perfectly with the Romaine lettuce called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Pretty good salad...I especially liked the dressing recipe. However, I made only half of the dressing and that was MORE than enough. I used the amount suggested of cherry tomatoes, and Hubby thought that was alittle to many. But overall...delicious,,,just not so much dressing! left-overs get wilty fast, so eat what you make right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canaan Valley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Very easy and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canning Vale, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Not bad, but needs tweaking. First of all, use the full amount of bacon drippings or else decrease the vinegar. Otherwise the dressing is too sour. Also, I thought it needed some additional things in it, so I added sugar snap peas, walnuts and avocado. It would also have benefited from some cucumbers or something. Very good idea though, and a great main-course salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSHARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delaplane, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This is probably my favorite salad ever. I have a lot of fresh basil in the garden, and this is a great way to use it. The croutons are to die for. I fry them in the bacon fat. Mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
great salad for low carbers! made cruton with low carb wrap added garlic powder salt and pepper to fried with butter i pan, gave salad that crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This is a very flavorful salad and I can see other applications for the dressing alone! I used red and green leaf lettuce, which was also good, but a bit softer. I think next time I'll mix in some iceberg lettuce as well... just tired of romaine since we, if we eat salad at all, usually have a Caesar. This was a nice change of pace! DH is not a big salad eater, so I make a lot of fresh veggies in other ways than salad per se. He didn't rave about it like he does Caesar, but I really didn't expect him to! I served this at his birthday dinner and was asked for the recipe, so I know it's a keeper! Thanks for the great alternative, Kimber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States