B.L.T. Salad with Basil Mayo Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
For the first time ever, I didn't change a thing as far as ingredients go, and the only instruction thing I did differently was that I toasted in the oven instead of over the stove (oh, and with olive oil instead of canole......I lied). Either way, this was FABULOUS!!! I'm not a big salad eater, especially as the main course, but my husband and I ate all of this in one sitting - literally. This is a do-over, and I'm guessing will be a hit a shower or luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Delicious! I made it to exact specifications the first time using pre-cooked bacon pieces and baking the croutons. I also used low-fat mayo. the 2nd time I used half low-fat mayo and 1/2 fat free sour cream and it was just as good. My husband also liked it which was a surprise! What a nice change for a salad and it really does taste like a BLT - the Basil is a lovely addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Definitely needs more. The dressing was just "okay" and the salad needed more ingredients...I would say to add cheese, hardboiled eggs, etc., but that pretty much makes it a regular salad and takes away the whole "BLT" part of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GradysMomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hollister, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
My daughter made this salad. It was a huge hit. We will make it again...great summer salad. Everything's better with bacon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lenox, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Housatonic, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Loved it. Great flavors and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Manchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I love the use of Balsamic vinegar in the dressing. I did make a few changes, tho. I microwaved the bacon...just to get rid of excess fat and used Hellmann's Light mayonnaise. Instead of making up the croutons, I put the lettuce, tomatoes, bacon (and sliced dill pickles) into Pita bread and drizzled the dressing over the filling. I served them on a platter surrounded with melon (Cantelope, Honeydew and Watermellon) slices. It was quite a hit with both the young and old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This salad was sooooo good even my husban loved it. I used white balsamic vinegar instead because that what I had. can not say enough about this salad it tasted just like the sandwich. will make over and over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonsterChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This salad was tremendous! I made it for Christmas and everyone loved it. I didn't make the croutons because I ran out of time and used packaged ones, but the dressing makes it. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made this for a pot-luck BBQ and it was the only dish EMPTY by the end. I was sad not to have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I took this salad to a ladies luncheon and it was a hit! I did add 1 teaspoon sweet chili sauce for a little more spice to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States