B.L.T. Salad with Basil Mayo Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
one word: YUMMY. I added mozz cheese cubes and avacado. ALTHOUGH - not a fan of the red wine vinegar. i used balsamic instead. other than that: mmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This recipe is ALWAYS a hit when I make it...for friends, for family, for parties. It is super easy, although it does take some time for a salad! Two hints: 1.) When making the croutons, use the excess drippings from the bacon (already in the pan) instead of canola oil. 2.)Use heirloom tomatoes or larger tomatoes (cut up in smaller sections) instead of cherry and add fresh mozzarella (cut into cubes). It is simply heavenly! I think the next time I make it...I am going to add avocado! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spazholecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I love this recipe. It's so good and so fast to make. Definitely a keeper !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This is my all time favorite salad recipe - it is sooooo good!! I usually add a bit of sugar to the dressing to cut the tanginess a bit. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I thought this was pretty good but next time I will cut back a little bit with the red wine vinegar. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This is a good salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I've got to admit that I'm a big BLT fan. This salad was delicious. I loved every bit of it. Not the healthiest salad out there, but it accomplishes what it sets out to do. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
For the first time ever, I didn't change a thing as far as ingredients go, and the only instruction thing I did differently was that I toasted in the oven instead of over the stove (oh, and with olive oil instead of canole......I lied). Either way, this was FABULOUS!!! I'm not a big salad eater, especially as the main course, but my husband and I ate all of this in one sitting - literally. This is a do-over, and I'm guessing will be a hit a shower or luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Delicious! I made it to exact specifications the first time using pre-cooked bacon pieces and baking the croutons. I also used low-fat mayo. the 2nd time I used half low-fat mayo and 1/2 fat free sour cream and it was just as good. My husband also liked it which was a surprise! What a nice change for a salad and it really does taste like a BLT - the Basil is a lovely addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Definitely needs more. The dressing was just "okay" and the salad needed more ingredients...I would say to add cheese, hardboiled eggs, etc., but that pretty much makes it a regular salad and takes away the whole "BLT" part of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GradysMomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hollister, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States