B.L.T. Salad with Basil Mayo Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I tried this because BTL is a favorite. I did sub plain yogurt for the mayo and used dried basil. Skipped the bread, too. I really liked the dressing---it makes a basic salad with tomatoes and bacon really special. I've made this twice now. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Potter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
OMG, this was so good! Made this for dinner tonight and even my salad hating lovely hubby ate the whole bowl almost by himself. I live in germany and I used instead of bacon german Schwarzwälder Schinken. It tastes the same but it's not so greasy as bacon plus you just cannot find a good american bacon in a german store. For the dressing I used half Miracle whip half mayonaise and added some milk to make it a little more thinner. It came out perfect and I will say it with lovely hubbys words: when salad tastes like this, I will eat it every night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was so good! I had all the ingredients except for the bread so I just used ceasar salad croutons. Delish! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I really enjoyed this salad! It totally tastes like a BLT in your mouth. I added avocado, and didn't use all the dressing it made. Can't wait to make this again, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Delicious. Followed recipe as written and quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is my favorite salad recipe on this site! The homemade croutons are amazing. I don't mix them in the salad because they get a little too mushy for my taste. I just put them in a bowl next to the salad and let everyone add their croutons to the top. I also end up using more bacon because it's just so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this for our Easter dinner, doubled the recipe except for the fresh basil, left it at the 1/4 cup and used garden fresh cherry tomatoes. I did add a couple teaspoons of sugar to the dressing after test tasting it, seemed a bit too tangy for me, also a few dashes of garlic powder. Our guest loved this salad and there were no leftovers. However I would caution to wait until right before serving to mix the dressing into the salad. I mixed it up a couple hours ahead and kept it in the refrigerator until serving and felt the romaine was soggy. It wasn't too hard to toss it up, so in the future I'll toss in the dressing right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I LOVE THIS! I did some changes, but will add those once I find 'em. 'Can't believe I hadn't added this to my box or reviewed it till now! Kimber's recipe for alfredo is fab, too. I adjusted it a little, too & YUHM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was ok. I thought the bacon drippings were a little much in the dressing. It did not taste pleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Excellent salad - wouldn't alter a thing! Have made this twice, once for company who loved it and promptly made it for themselves the next week. Can't go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States