B.L.T. Salad with Basil Mayo Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This is definately delicious but not healthy for you. I add avocado and sliced green onions to the salad. For the dressing, I add a couple of dashes of A-1 Steak Sauce. Gives it a little kick. The salad is a hit each time I serve it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
YYYuuummmmmsssyyyyyy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I have now made this salad twice in the last week. First time was for a dinner party and it got rave reviews, second time for my kids and they said in a word "delicious!". I did use a really good aged balsamic vinegar instead of wine vinegar and I added a 1/2 tsp. sugar and 1/2 tsp. garlic powder to the dressing. The homemade croutons make this salad, I found if the bread was a day old it made for easier cubing. I also sprinkled the bread with garlic powder in addition to the oil, salt and pepper. I cut up the bacon prior to frying. Even with my few additions and changes I still believe this one deserves 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This salad was the bomb! I accidentally used the bacon drippings on the croutons and had to scrape the bacon pan to get some drippings in the dressing, but the croutons were amazing with the bacon grease on them. So, next time I will split the drippings between the dressing and croutons on purpose! I thought this was perfect as written, really tastes like a BLT and I LOVE BLTs! Nice job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matris8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Wow - that is all I can say. The homemade croutons put this over the top. The dressing is simple but great. An awesome bonus of the dressing is it doesn't have to be refrigerated or made need time to chill. You can just make it and use it - very nice! Cutting the basil took a long time but then again, I'm not so good at chopping basil. I ended up adding some dry basil just to help out and it was still great. Thanks for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I tried this because BTL is a favorite. I did sub plain yogurt for the mayo and used dried basil. Skipped the bread, too. I really liked the dressing---it makes a basic salad with tomatoes and bacon really special. I've made this twice now. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen & David

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
OMG, this was so good! Made this for dinner tonight and even my salad hating lovely hubby ate the whole bowl almost by himself. I live in germany and I used instead of bacon german Schwarzwälder Schinken. It tastes the same but it's not so greasy as bacon plus you just cannot find a good american bacon in a german store. For the dressing I used half Miracle whip half mayonaise and added some milk to make it a little more thinner. It came out perfect and I will say it with lovely hubbys words: when salad tastes like this, I will eat it every night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
yuck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffiny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Riverbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was so good! I had all the ingredients except for the bread so I just used ceasar salad croutons. Delish! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I really enjoyed this salad! It totally tastes like a BLT in your mouth. I added avocado, and didn't use all the dressing it made. Can't wait to make this again, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States