B.L.T. Salad with Basil Mayo Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I've served this for guests on multiple occasions. They are always impressed with the flavor and amazed when I tell them I made the dressing myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Made it just like the recipe and loved it. BLT's are one of my favorite sandwiches and this is superior in flavor and health, but only because there is less bread/starch. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginlegg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Love the dressing. Sometimes I use a bistro mix of greens instead of the romaine. Tastes great either way. It's a fantastic recipe...thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Sharon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I loved the whole concept start to finish, and it was a pretty tasty dish, but there are some things I'll do differently next time. I'd never made croutons before, but I will definitely keep making them, so much better than store bought! The concept of the salad is great, but next time I'll probably save myself some time and by bags of the salad already prepared, and bacon bits that I'll heat up. The dressing was OK. It wasn't awful, but it wasn't spectacular either. I think I would have been just as good with ranch dressing as I was with this. Plus it will save on clean up too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
this was very delicious.. doubled the red wine vinegar and left out the croutons.. chopped up roma tomatoes from our little plant for the cherry and used dried basil for fresh.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I added avocado and sliced green onions to the salad. For the dressing, I added a couple of dashes of A-1 Steak Sauce. Gives it a little kick. The salad is a hit each time I serve it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
YYYuuummmmmsssyyyyyy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I have now made this salad twice in the last week. First time was for a dinner party and it got rave reviews, second time for my kids and they said in a word "delicious!". I did use a really good aged balsamic vinegar instead of wine vinegar and I added a 1/2 tsp. sugar and 1/2 tsp. garlic powder to the dressing. The homemade croutons make this salad, I found if the bread was a day old it made for easier cubing. I also sprinkled the bread with garlic powder in addition to the oil, salt and pepper. I cut up the bacon prior to frying. Even with my few additions and changes I still believe this one deserves 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This salad was the bomb! I accidentally used the bacon drippings on the croutons and had to scrape the bacon pan to get some drippings in the dressing, but the croutons were amazing with the bacon grease on them. So, next time I will split the drippings between the dressing and croutons on purpose! I thought this was perfect as written, really tastes like a BLT and I LOVE BLTs! Nice job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette Steiner Grayhek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Wow - that is all I can say. The homemade croutons put this over the top. The dressing is simple but great. An awesome bonus of the dressing is it doesn't have to be refrigerated or made need time to chill. You can just make it and use it - very nice! Cutting the basil took a long time but then again, I'm not so good at chopping basil. I ended up adding some dry basil just to help out and it was still great. Thanks for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States